It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding statistics: Home
A guide to useful sources of statistics.
This guide gives you an overview of some of the major sources of statistics. The resources listed are a mixture of freely available data and services for which the University has paid and for which you will have to login using your University username and password.
Nearly all nations maintain an official government agency to collect and maintain statistics to support the work of the government but which are also made available for others to use. In the United Kingdom the principal statistical agency is the Office for National Statistics whose primary aim is to collect, analyse and disseminate statistics about the UK's economy, society and population. As part of this work it is responsible for the UK census.
The Office for National Statistics is the UK’s largest independent producer of official statistics and is responsible for collecting and publishing statistics related to the economy, population and society at national, regional and local level.
Access to Official UK census datasets. Registration is required to use this resource - connect to the Census Datasets using the link above for more details and a registration form.
Includes links to:
- Aggregate statistics. There are two web-based interfaces that enable users to access and extract data from the aggregate statistics outputs from the 1971, 1981, 1991, 2001 and 2011 censuses. Casweb, the older interface, contains UK census data up to 2001. InFuse contains the 2011 and 2001 census aggregate data for England and Wales.
- Microdata. Samples of Anonymised Records (SARs), which are samples of individual person-level records, are currently available from the 1991 and 2001 censuses, and will be available from the 2011 census in due course. Most SAR files can be downloaded from the Census microdata page.
- Digitised boundary datasets, digitised representations of the underlying geography of the censuses, are available on the Census boundary data site. They are available in many Geographical Information System (GIS) formats. Includes 1991, 2001 and 2011 UK census boundaries and some historic boundaries.
Agcensus contains grid square agricultural census data for England, Scotland and Wales which gives realistic estimates of: what was produced; how much was produced; and where it was produced.
The Agricultural Census is conducted in June each year by the government departments dealing with Agriculture and Rural Affairs for Scotland, England, and Wales. Each farmer declares the agricultural activity on the land via a postal questionnaire. The respective government departments collect the 150 items of data and publish information relating to farm holdings for recognised geographies.
England and Wales: 1969-1997
The UK Historical Data repository has been developed jointly by the Bank of England, ESCoE and the Office for National Statistics. The site is both a repository of historical UK data and relevant statistical publications, as well as a hub that links to other data websites and sources. The focus is on macroeconomic and financial market data but the site includes a range of disaggregated economic data at a sector, industry and regional level.
This United Nations webpage provides a list of national statistical services together with links to their webpages
Comparative international statistics
The services listed below provide access to statistics across varying numbers of nations. They will provide you with comparable data to illustrate differences or similarities between nations or regional groupings.
International statistics relating to food and agriculture.
Much content is freely available. We do not have a subscription, although individuals can register and download a restricted number of records.
International statistics on:
-Codex Alimentarius food quality control
-exports by destination
-fertilizer and pesticides
-food aid shipments
-food balance sheets
-forest and fishery products
-land use and irrigation
International Historical Statistics is a large collection of statistical data from around the world, covering a wide range of socio-economic topics. The collection includes data on the Americas and Europe, but also hard-to-find data on Africa, Asia and Oceania.
Subjects covered include:
-Education, schools, universities, higher education
-Government expenditure and national accounts
-Trade, imports and exports
-TV and radio
-Wholesale and consumer prices