LibGuides: Language learning: Home

Language dictionaries

Click on the tabs above to explore key locations for language dictionaries and the Oxford Dictionaries online search tool.

Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary [ONLINE ACCESS]
ISBN: 9780198614227
Publication Date: 2007
Print and online
Collins German Dictionary [ONLINE ACCESS]
ISBN: 9781849722681
Publication Date: 2007
Print and online
Oxford-Paravia Italian Dictionary [ONLINE ACCESS]
ISBN: 9780199580422
Publication Date: 2010
Print and online
Collins Spanish dictionary [ONLINE ACCESS]
ISBN: 9780007382385
Publication Date: 2009
Print and online
Oxford Beginner's Japanese Dictionary by Oxford Dictionary (Editor)
Call Number: DICTIONARIES--DIC 495.632-OXF
ISBN: 0199298521
Publication Date: 2006
The Oxford Russian Dictionary by Jessie Coulson et al.
Call Number: DICTIONARIES--DIC 491.73
ISBN: 0198641893
Publication Date: 1993
Oxford Arabic Dictionary by Oxford Dictionaries Staff (Editor)
Call Number: DICTIONARIES--DIC 492.732-OXF
ISBN: 9780199580330
Publication Date: 2014
Collins English-Greek dictionary
Call Number: Online only
ISBN: 0007224281
Publication Date: 2011
Collins Greek-English dictionary also available
British Sign Language [Book/DVD Pack] by Paul Redfern; Laraine Callow
ISBN: 9780340991329
Publication Date: 2010-10-29

Language dictionaries are shelved in a separate section of the 3rd Floor - see the plan of the floor (PDF) for help locating this section. Here are some useful numbers for dictionaries for specific languages:

English
DICTIONARIES--DIC 423

German
DICTIONARIES--DIC 433.2

French
DICTIONARIES--DIC 443.2

Italian
DICTIONARIES--DIC 453.2

Spanish
DICTIONARIES--DIC 463.2

Latin
DICTIONARIES--DIC 473.2

Modern Greek
DICTIONARIES--DIC 489.3

Russian
DICTIONARIES--DIC 491.732

Arabic
DICTIONARIES--DIC 492.132

Mandarin Chinese
DICTIONARIES--DIC 495.132

Japanese
DICTIONARIES--DIC 495.632

British Sign Language
Shelved in the normal sequences at 419.1

Fully searchable, comprehensive and easy to use bilingual dictionaries for French, German, Italian and Spanish.

There are also language learning and usage tools and resources, such as downloadable letters, grammar notes, verb tables and cultural information to provide practical help with writing.

Oxford Dictionaries [full-text] This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable, comprehensive and easy to use bilingual dictionaries. Our subscription covers French, German, Italian and Spanish.
There are also language learning and usage tools and resources, such as downloadable letters, grammar notes, verb tables and cultural information to provide practical help with writing.

Help and guidance
Guide to the dictionary

Finding books & multimedia resources

The language learning books and multimedia are on the 3rd Floor.

Find books and multimedia using the catalogue

To find materials on learning a specific language search the Enterprise catalogue (search box below). After running your search use the limits to restrict to a specific format e.g. DVD.

Locations for books on/in specific languages

Click on the tabs above to explore other languages.

English

3rd Floor

420	General books about the English language
423	Dictionaries (most in the 3rd Floor Dictionaries section)
425	English grammars
428.24	Textbooks for learners, including multimedia
428.6	Easy readers
791.437	English language films on DVD
4th Floor
820	English literature

Arabic

3rd Floor

492.732	Dictionaries (including in the 3rd Floor Dictionaries section)
492.75	Arabic grammars
492.78242	Textbooks for learners, including multimedia
791.437	Arabic language films on DVD

British Sign Language

3rd Floor

419	Sign Languages
419.1	BSL Textbooks for learners, including multimedia

Chinese

3rd Floor

495.132	Dictionaries (including in the 3rd Floor Dictionaries section)
495.1824	Textbooks for learners, including multimedia
791.437	Chinese language films on DVD

French

3rd Floor

440	General books about the French language
443.2	Dictionaries (including in the 3rd Floor Dictionaries section)
445	French grammars
448.24	Textbooks for learners, including multimedia
448.6	Easy readers
791.437	French language films on DVD
4th Floor
840	French literature

German

3rd Floor

430	General books about the German language
433.2	Dictionaries (including in the 3rd Floor Dictionaries section)
435	German grammars
438.24	Textbooks for learners, including multimedia
438.6	Easy readers
791.437	German language films on DVD
4th Floor
830	German literature

Italian

3rd Floor

450	General books about the Italian language
453.2	Dictionaries (including in the 3rd Floor Dictionaries section)
455	Italian grammars
458.24	Textbooks for learners, including multimedia
458.6	Easy readers
791.437	Italian language films on DVD
4th Floor
850	Italian literature

Japanese

3rd Floor

495.632	Dictionaries (including in the 3rd Floor Dictionaries section)
495.65	Japanese grammars
495.6824	Textbooks for learners, including multimedia
791.437	Japanese language films on DVD

Modern Greek

3rd Floor

489.3	Dictionaries (including in the 3rd Floor Dictionaries section)
	Modern Greek grammars
	Textbooks for learners, including multimedia
	Easy readers
791.437	Greek language films on DVD

Russian

3rd Floor

491.732	Dictionaries (including in the 3rd Floor Dictionaries section)
491.75	Russian grammars
491.7824	Textbooks for learners, including multimedia
791.437	Russian language films on DVD
4th Floor
891.7	Russian literature

Spanish

3rd Floor

460	General books about the Spanish language
463.2	Dictionaries (including in the 3rd Floor Dictionaries section)
465	Spanish grammars
468.24	Textbooks for learners, including multimedia
468.6	Easy readers
791.437	Spanish language films on DVD
4th Floor
860	Spanish literature

Video resources

Box of Broadcasts [video & audio] This link opens in a new window
Box of Broadcasts includes recordings from 10 foreign language channels (Italian, French and German) which may help develop your language skills:
Record and view TV and radio programmes from over 75 free-to-airchannels and access an archive of over 2 million programmes from the 1990s to the present day. Includes content from:
- BBC TV and radio
- ITV
- Channel 4
- Film4
- Sky Arts
-1 0 foreign language channels (Italian, French and German)
- BBC Shakespeare Archive content dating back to the 1950s

Use tools within BoB to create innovative and engaging learning materials to support teaching and learning;
- Create playlists, clips and clip compilations
- Embed content in BlackBoard and use in lectures
- Find programmes and clips on your topic by searching across programme transcripts and subtitles

How you may use the content

Permitted:
- lecture presentations
- Blackboard
- Create clips
- Embed in student coursework - provided it is within BlackBoard

Tip! Acknowledge the source and title of the programme and the ERA licensing scheme - see text under each video on BoB.

Not permitted:
- using BoB from outside the UK
- downloading or copying the videos - they are for streaming only
- publicly available websites
- public display in University
- any alteration, adaption or modification of the video or audio (except creating clips)
- promotional materials

Help and guidance
BoB video tutorials - including videos on using embed codes and using BoB videos in PowerPoint

Have a look at the BoB Frequently Asked Questions

Recommended browsers for BoB are Internet Explorer 11, Edge 12, Mozilla Firefox 44, Safari 8, Google Chrome 48 - or later versions of any of these browsers.

How to embed BoB videos in BlackBoard [PDF]

Tip! Each clip has a citation which you can copy.
Kanopy [video] This link opens in a new window
Access to thousands of films for the arts & humanities.
Use the Browse feature to search by subject or genre, or the search bar at the top of the page to look for a film by title.

Help and guidance
Help using the Kanopy site

How you may use the content
You may only use the content for educational purposes.

Permitted
-lecture presentations
-creating clips and playlists
-embedding clips or films in BlackBoard
-embedding in student coursework

Not permitted
-downloading or copying the videos - they are for streaming only
-public display in the University
-any alteration, adaption or modification of the video or audio (except creating clips)

Europeana [video, image & sound]
Digitised collection of video, images and sound on European cultural history.

Your librarian

Natalie Guest

She / Her

Email Me

Contact:

Get my help with finding relevant books and articles for your research, help with accessing library materials and collections, referencing and reference management software.

Email me with your question or book an appointment

0118 3783415

Subjects: Art, Cultures, English language and applied linguistics, English literature, Film, theatre and television, Fine art, French studies, German studies, Italian studies, Language, Linguistics, Literature, Spanish and Latin American studies, Television, Theatre, Typography and graphic communication