This guide will help you find materials relating to learning a language. Whether you are learning a language:
Language learning resources are located on the 3rd Floor of the Library. You will also find e-books online, and multimedia resources such as videos and films which you can access on DVD or online.
Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary [ONLINE ACCESS]
Oxford-Paravia Italian Dictionary [ONLINE ACCESS]
Oxford Beginner's Japanese Dictionary by 
The Oxford Russian Dictionary by 
Oxford Arabic Dictionary by 
Collins English-Greek dictionary
British Sign Language [Book/DVD Pack] by 
Concise Oxford English Dictionary by Language dictionaries are shelved in a separate section of the 3rd Floor - see the plan of the floor (PDF) for help locating this section. Here are some useful numbers for dictionaries for specific languages:
English
DICTIONARIES--DIC 423
German
DICTIONARIES--DIC 433.2
French
DICTIONARIES--DIC 443.2
Italian
DICTIONARIES--DIC 453.2
Spanish
DICTIONARIES--DIC 463.2
Latin
DICTIONARIES--DIC 473.2
Modern Greek
DICTIONARIES--DIC 489.3
Russian
DICTIONARIES--DIC 491.732
Arabic
DICTIONARIES--DIC 492.132
Mandarin Chinese
DICTIONARIES--DIC 495.132
Japanese
DICTIONARIES--DIC 495.632
British Sign Language
Shelved in the normal sequences at 419.1
Fully searchable, comprehensive and easy to use bilingual dictionaries for French, German, Italian and Spanish.
There are also language learning and usage tools and resources, such as downloadable letters, grammar notes, verb tables and cultural information to provide practical help with writing.
Fully searchable, comprehensive and easy to use bilingual dictionaries. Our subscription covers French, German, Italian and Spanish.
The language learning books and multimedia are on the 3rd Floor.
To find materials on learning a specific language search the Enterprise catalogue (search box below). After running your search use the limits to restrict to a specific format e.g. DVD.
3rd Floor
|
420 |
General books about the English language |
|
423 |
Dictionaries (most in the 3rd Floor Dictionaries section) |
|
425 |
English grammars |
|
428.24 |
Textbooks for learners, including multimedia |
|
428.6 |
Easy readers |
|
791.437 |
English language films on DVD |
|
4th Floor |
|
|
820 |
English literature |
3rd Floor
|
492.732 |
Dictionaries (including in the 3rd Floor Dictionaries section) |
|
492.75 |
Arabic grammars |
|
492.78242 |
Textbooks for learners, including multimedia |
|
791.437 |
Arabic language films on DVD |
3rd Floor
|
419 |
Sign Languages |
|
419.1 |
BSL Textbooks for learners, including multimedia |
3rd Floor
|
495.132 |
Dictionaries (including in the 3rd Floor Dictionaries section) |
|
495.1824 |
Textbooks for learners, including multimedia |
|
791.437 |
Chinese language films on DVD |
3rd Floor
|
440 |
General books about the French language |
|
443.2 |
Dictionaries (including in the 3rd Floor Dictionaries section) |
|
445 |
French grammars |
|
448.24 |
Textbooks for learners, including multimedia |
|
448.6 |
Easy readers |
|
791.437 |
French language films on DVD |
|
4th Floor |
|
|
840 |
French literature |
3rd Floor
|
430 |
General books about the German language |
|
433.2 |
Dictionaries (including in the 3rd Floor Dictionaries section) |
|
435 |
German grammars |
|
438.24 |
Textbooks for learners, including multimedia |
|
438.6 |
Easy readers |
|
791.437 |
German language films on DVD |
|
4th Floor |
|
|
830 |
German literature |
3rd Floor
|
450 |
General books about the Italian language |
|
453.2 |
Dictionaries (including in the 3rd Floor Dictionaries section) |
|
455 |
Italian grammars |
|
458.24 |
Textbooks for learners, including multimedia |
|
458.6 |
Easy readers |
|
791.437 |
Italian language films on DVD |
|
4th Floor |
|
|
850 |
Italian literature |
3rd Floor
|
495.632 |
Dictionaries (including in the 3rd Floor Dictionaries section) |
|
495.65 |
Japanese grammars |
|
495.6824 |
Textbooks for learners, including multimedia |
|
791.437 |
Japanese language films on DVD |
3rd Floor
|
489.3 |
Dictionaries (including in the 3rd Floor Dictionaries section) |
|
|
Modern Greek grammars |
|
|
Textbooks for learners, including multimedia |
|
|
Easy readers |
|
791.437 |
Greek language films on DVD |
3rd Floor
|
491.732 |
Dictionaries (including in the 3rd Floor Dictionaries section) |
|
491.75 |
Russian grammars |
|
491.7824 |
Textbooks for learners, including multimedia |
|
791.437 |
Russian language films on DVD |
|
4th Floor |
|
|
891.7 |
Russian literature |
3rd Floor
|
460 |
General books about the Spanish language |
|
463.2 |
Dictionaries (including in the 3rd Floor Dictionaries section) |
|
465 |
Spanish grammars |
|
468.24 |
Textbooks for learners, including multimedia |
|
468.6 |
Easy readers |
|
791.437 |
Spanish language films on DVD |
|
4th Floor |
|
|
860 |
Spanish literature |
Access to thousands of films for the arts & humanities.
