It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A guide to finding information in architecture. Includes links to key resources and sources of help.
Access to all British Standards Institution publications - for educational use only (see 'more...' for business use options).
Full-text access to all British Standards Institution publications including:
-current, historic, and draft British Standards
-BSI adopted European and international standards
-codes of practice
-specifications for products, dimensions, and performance
To access the full-text pdfs you can either view online, or download the file. If you are using your personal computer and wish to download files, you will need to install the FileOpen plugin and make sure Adobe Acrobat Reader is already installed on your computer.
Restrictions on use
Standards for business purposes
The Estates department have an online subscription to BSI which allows for the access of standards for commercial use. Please contact them if you wish to use the platform for this purpose.
If you require a physical copy of a standard for the purposes of University business processes, these can be obtained directly from the BSI via our University of Reading Membership, which is managed by The Library. Please contact Kate Devaney, Collections Services Manager for further details.
Construction information for architects, civil and structural engineers, building control officers, building services engineers and other professionals in the construction industry.
Please select "The Construction Information Service - CIS" upon reaching the platform. By accessing this resource, your University username will be released to the supplier.
Construction information for architects, civil and structural engineers, building control officers, building services engineers and other professionals in the construction industry. As well as the Core Supplement, this database also includes the Building, Mechanical & Electrical, Construction Management and Sustainability, Environment, Development & Planning Supplements.
Help and guidance
There is a help section which can be accessed from the left hand sidebar on the Construction Information Service section.
Online image and reference database for architects in German and English. Features photos, drawings and technical information.
Online image and reference database for architects in German and English. Features photos, drawings and technical information. Over 3,700 DETAIL projects/references from 32 years of DETAIL are available for download (pdf files).
Use in preference to Google maps to look at Ordnance Survey historical and environmental map data for any area of the country. Find land use, calculate the area of a building and look at aerial imagery.
Please note: By accepting the licence you are agreeing to the terms and conditions listed in the End User Licence Agreement (EULA).
Map data of Great Britain comprising ten datasets:
Data can be downloaded to use with appropriate application software such as GIS or CAD, or as maps generated by Digimap online using the Roam facility.
Using Roam you can:
-View maps of any location in Great Britain at a series of predefined scales
-Print maps at a variety of scales and sizes
-Add your own annotations
-Ordnance Survey Digimap offers MasterMap - the most detailed current map dataset
-Ordnance Survey Digimap includes Digital Terrain Model data for download.
-Ordnance Survey Digimap includes Scottish Improvement Service data, 37 datasets from Scottish local authorities, available for download only.
-Historic Digimap provides access to 1:10 560, 1:2500 and 1:1250 data from 1846-1996; two maps of the same area can be compared on screen at once.
-Geology Digimap provides access to bedrock and Quaternary geological maps at scales of 1:625 000, 1:250 000 and 1:50 000.
-Marine Digimap includes hydrographic charts and marine themes data
-Environment Digimap includes land cover data for 1997, 2000 and 2007 from the Centre of Ecology and Hydrology.
-Aerial Digimap includes aerial imagery in a single seamless coverage, captured since 2000, at 25 cm resolution.
-Aerial Digimap includes access to Lidar Digimap - download Lidar data for use in GIS and CAD applications.
Gives references to journal articles, books, conference proceedings and patents in all subjects. Also offers extensive tools to analyse results, and measure impact for articles, journals and authors.
Scopus gives references to peer-reviewed literature in all subject areas. It includes journal articles (including 'in press' items), books, conference proceedings and patents.
It is possible to search for topics, authors (including by ORCID ID), author affiliation and funders.
Extensive analytical tools also allow you to:
-analyse your search results by year, source, author, affiliation, country or territory, document type and subject area
-compare journal impact to help you decide where to publish
-see the citation impact and scholarly community engagement for an article
-analyse the citation trend for any given article, set of results or for a list of author documents
-view an author profile to analyse and track an individual's citation history
Provides references to journal articles and other publications in all subject areas. Includes the Arts and Humanities, Science, and Social Science Citation Indexes.
Check which indexes you wish to search under 'More settings'.
All subjects. Allows simultaneous searching of:
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index
- Book Citation Index
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index
- Current Chemical Reactions
- Emerging Sources Citation Index
- Index Chemicus
- Science Citation Index
- Social Sciences Citation Index
If you are on campus you will be able to access most e-journals and e-books, and some databases, without entering a username and password because your IP address identifies you as being at the University of Reading.
For any that require a login, see the Off-campus tab.
When you are off-campus you will need to login to identify yourself as a member of the University of Reading to gain access to our protected databases, e-books and e-journals.
Your login details
You login in the same way as for Blackboard - via Microsoft. Just enter your University username followed by @student.reading.ac.uk (e.g. email@example.com) and your password. If this is the first time you have logged in via this method when off-campus you will be asked to complete a Multi-Factor Authentication. For more information see:
For most resources, if you follow a link from our website or catalogues your login will be picked up automatically or you will be prompted to login straightaway.
If you access resources via another route you will need to look for a login option once you reach the resource you are trying to access. Look for an institutional or shibboleth login option and pick 'University of Reading' from a list of institutions. This will then pick up your login or prompt you to login. For more information about institutional login, please see the link below:
This playlist of two videos shows you how to prepare for and perform a literature search. The first video introduces literature searches and their role. The second video covers using the search operators AND and OR to create a search statement, and explains the role of wildcards and truncation in constructing a comprehensive search. This information is also available in written guides - see the links below.
If you are unable to view these videos on YouTube they are also available on YuJa or Stream (University username and password required):