LibGuides: Construction management and engineering: Further sources

Legislation

The Library holds British parliamentary papers, including debates, command papers, House of Commons and House of Lords papers going back to 1801. It also has all statutes (acts) and statutory instruments. For more information, see the Law guide (link below).

In addition, there are several subject specific titles, which are particularly relevant to construction management:

Building law reports

Construction law reports
Journals--PER 344.42075

Housing law reports

For more information about online sources of legal information consult the E-resources section of the Law guide (link below).

Law guide

Statistics

Depending upon your individual research subject, statistical sources could be important for you. Explore the following sources:

Eurostat
Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union and provides access to data on all member countries as well as some data on candidate member countries.
House building: new build dwellings statistics
Government statistics on house building in the UK
Office for National Statistics
The Office for National Statistics is the UK’s largest independent producer of official statistics and is responsible for collecting and publishing statistics related to the economy, population and society at national, regional and local level.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides quantitative data and statistics on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources.
Also included are reports, infographics, revenue forecasts on over 400 industries, and a glossary of statistical terms.

Help and guidance
Statista Help & FAQs

Conference papers

Conference papers are published in a variety of ways - they may be published as a book, or as a special issue or supplement to a journal. Some may not be published at all!

If published promptly they can you give you the latest information on research in your field.

See our guide to finding conference papers for details of specialist sources for finding this type of information.

Finding conference papers

Theses

Reading University theses and dissertations

The Library receives a copy of all theses accepted for the degrees of PhD and MPhil by the University. All theses held by the Library can be found on the Enterprise catalogue. Recently submitted theses might also be available to download from the University's Institutional Repository, CentAUR.

Masters theses can usually be consulted in the relevant school or department.

Finding theses from other institutions

There are a number of specialist sources for finding theses produced at other institutions around the world. Many more are becoming available online making it much easier to get the full-text. For more information see our guide to finding theses.

See our guide to finding theses for more information:

Finding theses
A guide to identifying and consulting theses produced at Reading and beyond.

Maps & atlases

Maps can be used in nearly all disciplines to either research or display spatial information. The University Library contains about 70,000 maps and atlases, covering the whole world. They include original and facsimile maps from medieval to modern times, and access to online resources is also available.

To find out how maps can help you, see our presentation on Using maps for your research:

Using maps for your research

For more information see the following guide:

Guide to maps
Guide to the map collection, including both print and digital maps

For digital maps of Great Britain, the best place to start is Digimap. This includes nine datasets, including contemporary Ordnance Survey maps; historical Ordnance Survey maps; geology maps; environmental land cover maps; marine charts and thematic data; aerial imagery; census and socio-economic data; detailed building and land cover data and world maps. Maps can be printed out or data downloaded for use in a geographical information system.

Digimap This link opens in a new window
Please note: By accepting the licence you are agreeing to the terms and conditions listed in the End User Licence Agreement (EULA).

Map data of Great Britain comprising ten datasets:

-Ordnance Survey Digimap (including Scottish Improvement Service data)
-Historic Digimap
-Geology Digimap
-Marine Digimap
-Environment Digimap
-Aerial Digimap (including Lidar Digimap)
-Global Digimap
-Society Digimap
-Verisk Digimap (formerly Geomni)
-agCensus Digimap

Data can be downloaded to use with appropriate application software such as GIS or CAD, or as maps generated by Digimap online using the Roam facility.

Using Roam you can:

-View maps of any location in Great Britain at a series of predefined scales
-Print maps at a variety of scales and sizes
-Add your own annotations

Coverage details:

-Ordnance Survey Digimap offers MasterMap - the most detailed current map dataset
-Ordnance Survey Digimap includes Digital Terrain Model data for download.
-Ordnance Survey Digimap includes Scottish Improvement Service data, 37 datasets from Scottish local authorities, available for download only.
-Historic Digimap provides access to 1:10 560, 1:2500 and 1:1250 data from 1846-1996; two maps of the same area can be compared on screen at once.
-Geology Digimap provides access to bedrock and Quaternary geological maps at scales of 1:625 000, 1:250 000 and 1:50 000.
-Marine Digimap includes hydrographic charts and marine themes data
-Environment Digimap includes land cover data for 1997, 2000 and 2007 from the Centre of Ecology and Hydrology.
-Aerial Digimap includes aerial imagery in a single seamless coverage, captured since 2000, at 25 cm resolution.
-Aerial Digimap includes access to Lidar Digimap - download Lidar data for use in GIS and CAD applications.

More about Digimap

Help and guidance
Digimap help can be found in the Digimap Help Centre, including links to help you get started and help for GIS/CAD users. Digimap Help pages can be accessed without logging in to Digimap.
Guides, exercises and case studies can be found on the Digimap learning materials page
Short videos about aspects of using Digimap can be found at EDINA Digimap Youtube channel
For help and guidance on licensing and copyright see the Digimap copyright & licensing page.

Current awareness
To keep up to date with what is happening with Digimap, follow Digimap on Twitter or Facebook, or look at the Digimap Blog

Newspapers

Newspapers can be a good source for the latest developments in a field and for current opinion on controversial topics.

We have online access to a number of current and archive newspaper issues. For further information and links go to our Finding newspapers guide.

Finding newspapers