Use the resources listed on this page to find relevant information on topics in construction management and engineering. They will give you access to both primary and secondary sources of information.
Includes over 18,000 papers covering civil engineering, construction, environmental studies, history and heritage of the built environment, land use, and transportation.
Archive issues also available via JISC Journal Archives.
Gives references to journal articles, books, conference proceedings and patents in all subjects. Also offers extensive tools to analyse results, and measure impact for articles, journals and authors.
Provides references to journal articles and other publications in all subject areas. Includes the Arts and Humanities, Science, and Social Science Citation Indexes.
Check which indexes you wish to search under 'More settings'.
Archive of journal articles covering most subjects.
Please read the JSTOR terms and conditions of use before accessing JSTOR. You may not download an entire issue of a journal from the JSTOR database or keep multiple electronic or paper copies of any article. You may not alter or distribute any Content, including but not limited to transmission via email to another computer.
Access to articles in journals published by Elsevier from 1995 to the present, plus access to older articles in some subject areas. Also gives access to Elsevier e-books we have purchased.
Provides access to a collection of ASHRAE Standards and Guidelines, including ventilation for acceptable indoor air quality, energy efficient design, digital control systems and the design of high-performance green buildings.
To access the full-text pdfs you can either view online, or download the file. If you are using your personal computer and wish to download files, you will need to install the FileOpen plugin and make sure Adobe Acrobat Reader is already installed on your computer. Staff using work laptops will need to contact DTS to arrange for these to be installed.
Independent data with over 18,000 cost analyses to help to prepare cost plans. Now includes Running Costs, a central database of building running costs.
This resource combines BCIS Online and the previously separate platform BCIS Running Costs.
Online news, research and analysis for the UK commercial property market.
You must register to use EG Radius. You must register using your University email address ending in @reading.ac.uk / @henley.ac.uk / @reading.edu.my. No other email addresses will be accepted.
isurv provides access to RICS (Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors) documents including official guidance, forms and case studies.
Construction component and equipment information for construction industry professionals.
Please select "Knowledge Workspace" upon reaching the platform, then select "Specify-It" from the dropdown menu to the left of the search box. Specify-It now includes content previously part of Engineer-It. By accessing this resource, your University username will be released to the supplier.
For more online sources of legal information consult the Law subject guide.
Below are a couple of key databases
Full-text of UK, US EU and Commonwealth legal sources.
For further information about online sources of economics, business and management information consult the Economics and Business, Informatics, Management and Accounting Libguides. Below are a two especially useful databases.
Full-text articles in business magazines, scholarly journals and trade publications.
Global company and industry information.
Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
We subscribe to a wide range of journals in construction and management, these are just a few of the titles. Search the Enterprise catalogue to find out if we have a specific journal (in print or online). Search Summon to find articles published in all our online journals.
If you are on campus you will be able to access most e-journals and e-books, and some databases, without entering a username and password because your IP address identifies you as being at the University of Reading.
For any that require a login, see the Off-campus tab.
When you use our e-resources you are agreeing to our Terms of Use. Please take a moment to look at these by following the link below:
When you are off-campus you will need to login to identify yourself as a member of the University of Reading to gain access to our protected databases, e-books and e-journals.
Your login details
You login in the same way as for Blackboard - via Microsoft. Just enter your University username followed by @student.reading.ac.uk (e.g. ab123456@student.reading.ac.uk) and your password. If this is the first time you have logged in via this method when off-campus you will be asked to complete a Multi-Factor Authentication. For more information see:
Getting to the login page...
Watch this short video on how you login to use Library resources.
This playlist of two videos shows you how to prepare for and perform a literature search. The first video introduces literature searches and their role. The second video covers using the search operators AND and OR to create a search statement, and explains the role of wildcards and truncation in constructing a comprehensive search. This information is also available in written guides - see the links below.
Our Inter-Library Loans service can get articles, books and other publications not held at Reading from other libraries (usually from the British Library).
For more information see our webpages: