LibGuides: Architecture: Home

Get started by using books

Great for summaries and background information books are a reliable, easy to understand source. Most of the books for architecture can be found on the 3rd Floor of the Library.

Find your reading list

Use your module reading list to find books recommended by your lecturer. Find the link on the module site on Blackboard or via the link below.

Find books on a topic using the catalogue

Alternatively search for a specific book or books on a topic using the Enterprise catalogue (search box below).

Can't get the item you need?

Key book locations

Books and the shelves where you will find them are all numbered according to topic area. See the guide below for an outline of the main location (Call) numbers for topics in this subject area:

Finding your way - architecture

Finding books

Extend your search using journal articles

For the latest information on specific topics use journal articles.

Finding journal articles

Summon articles you can read straightaway

For quick access to articles available to students at Reading search Summon for your topic using the box below.

Videos on how to use Summon

Go one step beyond...

Explore further using these key resources for your subject:

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Gives references to journal articles, books, conference proceedings and patents in all subjects. Also offers extensive tools to analyse results, and measure impact for articles, journals and authors.
Scopus gives references to peer-reviewed literature in all subject areas. It includes journal articles (including 'in press' items), books, conference proceedings and patents.

It is possible to search for topics, authors (including by ORCID ID), author affiliation and funders.

Extensive analytical tools also allow you to:

-analyse your search results by year, source, author, affiliation, country or territory, document type and subject area
-compare journal impact to help you decide where to publish
-see the citation impact and scholarly community engagement for an article
-analyse the citation trend for any given article, set of results or for a list of author documents
-view an author profile to analyse and track an individual's citation history

Help and guidance
Scopus Quick Reference Guide (PDF)
Tutorial of creating alerts
Scopus learn & support site
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides references to journal articles and other publications in all subject areas. Includes the Arts and Humanities, Science, and Social Science Citation Indexes.

Check which indexes you wish to search under 'More settings'.
All subjects. Allows simultaneous searching of:

- Arts and Humanities Citation Index
- Book Citation Index
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index
- Current Chemical Reactions
- Emerging Sources Citation Index
- Index Chemicus
- Science Citation Index
- Social Sciences Citation Index

Help and guidance
Web of Science Training Portal
CIS (Construction Information Service) This link opens in a new window
Construction information for architects, civil and structural engineers, building control officers, building services engineers and other professionals in the construction industry.

Please select "The Construction Information Service - CIS" upon reaching the platform. By accessing this resource, your University username will be released to the supplier.
Please select "The Construction Information Service - CIS" upon reaching the platform. By accessing this resource, your University username will be released to the supplier.

Construction information for architects, civil and structural engineers, building control officers, building services engineers and other professionals in the construction industry. As well as the Core Supplement, this database also includes the Building, Mechanical & Electrical, Construction Management and Sustainability, Environment, Development & Planning Supplements.

Help and guidance
There is a help section which can be accessed from the left hand sidebar on the Construction Information Service section.
Digimap This link opens in a new window
Map data of Great Britain. Includes Ordnance Survey, historic, geological and environmental map data and aerial imagery.

A two part registration is required to use Digimap:

1. Connect to Digimap using the link above and complete a registration form
2. Accept the licence agreements associated with each collection

You will need to re-accept the licence terms annually, in August of each year.

Edina's Digimap registration pages give more information and guidance. Please pay particular attention to the Privacy Notice.
Please note: By accepting the licence you are agreeing to the terms and conditions listed in the End User Licence Agreement (EULA).

Map data of Great Britain comprising ten datasets:

-Ordnance Survey Digimap (including Scottish Improvement Service data)
-Historic Digimap
-Geology Digimap
-Marine Digimap
-Environment Digimap
-Aerial Digimap (including Aerial Extra data and Lidar Digimap)
-Global Digimap
-Society Digimap
-Verisk Digimap (formerly Geomni)
-agCensus Digimap

Data can be downloaded to use with appropriate application software such as GIS or CAD, or as maps generated by Digimap online using the Roam facility.

Using Roam you can:

-View maps of any location in Great Britain at a series of predefined scales
-Print maps at a variety of scales and sizes
-Add your own annotations

Coverage details:

-Ordnance Survey Digimap offers MasterMap - the most detailed current map dataset
-Ordnance Survey Digimap includes Digital Terrain Model data for download.
-Ordnance Survey Digimap includes Scottish Improvement Service data, 37 datasets from Scottish local authorities, available for download only.
-Historic Digimap provides access to 1:10 560, 1:2500 and 1:1250 data from 1846-1996; two maps of the same area can be compared on screen at once.
-Geology Digimap provides access to bedrock and Quaternary geological maps at scales of 1:625 000, 1:250 000 and 1:50 000.
-Marine Digimap includes hydrographic charts and marine themes data
-Environment Digimap includes land cover data for 1997, 2000 and 2007 from the Centre of Ecology and Hydrology.
-Aerial Digimap includes aerial imagery in a single seamless coverage, captured since 2000, at 12.5 cm resolution (nationally) and 5 cm (selected areas).
-Aerial Digimap includes access to Lidar Digimap - download Lidar data for use in GIS and CAD applications.

More about Digimap

Help and guidance
Digimap help can be found in the Digimap Help Centre, including links to help you get started and help for GIS/CAD users. Digimap Help pages can be accessed without logging in to Digimap.
Guides, exercises and case studies can be found on the Digimap learning materials page
Short videos about aspects of using Digimap can be found at EDINA Digimap Youtube channel
For help and guidance on licensing and copyright see the Digimap copyright & licensing page.

Current awareness
To keep up to date with what is happening with Digimap, follow Digimap on Twitter or Facebook, or look at the Digimap Blog

Explore more resources for architecture

Your librarian

Sally Smith

Email Me

Contact:

If you would like help with a specific research question, finding information for an assignment, an introduction to using the library, or help with referencing and EndNote, please contact me

Subjects: Architecture, Built environment, Clinical language sciences, Construction management and engineering, Psychology

Other useful guides

Arts and health
This guide draws together materials for doing research in the interdisciplinary area of arts and health.
Guide to maps
Guide to the map collection, including both print and digital maps