In addition to the resources listed here, disability topics are covered in a wide range of other databases, see our list of databases by subject for more details.
References to published materials in the arts and humanities including journal articles, letters, editorials and reviews.
This database is part of the Web of Science Core Collection. To search just this part select 'Arts & Humanities Citation Index' from the 'Editions' drop down list.
Construction information for architects, civil and structural engineers, building control officers, building services engineers and other professionals in the construction industry.
Please select "The Construction Information Service - CIS" upon reaching the platform. By accessing this resource, your University username will be released to the supplier.
References to research documents, journal articles, and other materials covering education.
Gives references to journal articles, books, reviews and selected chapters in subjects including anthropology, economics, political science and sociology.
References to journal articles in the biomedical sciences. Covers 1950 to the present day. Includes 'In press' articles.
Access to articles in over 500 journal titles in arts, humanities and social sciences.
Gives references to journal articles, books and chapters in psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines including education, linguistics, medicine, and physiology. Includes links to full-text articles in PsycARTICLES.
References to publications in the sciences. Part of the Web of Science Core Collection.
This database is part of the Web of Science Core Collection. To search just this part select 'Science Citation index' from the 'Editions' drop down list.
Gives references to journal articles, books, conference proceedings and patents in all subjects. Also offers extensive tools to analyse results, and measure impact for articles, journals and authors.
Gives references, and some full-text access, to sources relating to film and television.
Gives references to journal articles in the social sciences.
This database is part of the Web of Science Core Collection. To search just this part select 'Social Sciences Citation Index' from the 'Editions' drop down list.
Use to search across a number of databases covering a range of subject areas. Provides references to journal articles, books, conference papers, patents, research data and other materials.
Full-text of UK, US EU and Commonwealth legal sources.
We subscribe to a wide range of journals relating to disability, these are just a few of the titles.
Find more online journals by searching the E-journals Finder:
This is a selection of video, image and sound resources:
Video material including documentaries, interviews, performances, news programmes and newsreels covering a variety of events and themes.
Box of Broadcasts (BoB) is a collection of TV and radio programmes from free-to-air channels. Set new recordings and playback programmes already recorded. Content back to 1990s.
ImageQuest is a high resolution image library of over 2.7 million images which are rights-cleared for academic use from various collections including National Geographic, Getty Images, National History Museum and more.
A freely available database of over 50,000 sound recordings from the British Library Sound Archive.
Provides a simultaneous search across the BUFVC's 9 online databases relating to film, television and radio content dating from 1896 onwards.
In addition to the resources listed here, disability topics are covered in a wide range of other video, image and sound resources, see our full list:
For guidance on how to use our multimedia e-resources, see: