Disability and inclusion: Websites and online archives

Embedding inclusive design into teaching and learning in built environment professional education and beyond

The Disability Archive UK was established by Professor Colin Barnes to provide disabled people, students and scholars with an interest in this and related fields, access to the writings of those disability activists, writers and allies whose work may no longer be easily accessible in the public domain

A website that includes blogs, case studies and films exploring the work of disabled artists and how arts organisations are improving access for disabled audiences and visitors around the world

The Inclusive Environments programme at Design Council aims to raise awareness about the importance of designing places that meet the needs of the diversity of people who want to use them.

The Mental Health Foundation is a charity dedicated to finding and addressing the sources of mental health problems. Their website includes an A-Z of Mental Health looking at conditions and circumstances associated with poor mental health

A guide to searching the National Archives for records relating to disability history

The NDACA brings to life the heritage and history of the UK Disability Arts Movement with learning resources, oral history films, biographies of those who contributed to the Disability Arts Movement and emerging disabled artists

The Office for National Statistics is the UK’s largest independent producer of official statistics and is responsible for collecting and publishing statistics related to the economy, population and society at national, regional and local level, including reports and data sets relating to disability

Videos, clips, podcasts and articles of people sharing their experiences of living with a disability

A way of viewing the world, developed by disabled people.

Organisation for researchers, professionals, academics, and students working with or interested in computers and accessibility. Includes a thesis repository which 'maintains information about Ph.D. and Master’s theses related to assistive technologies, computer access, and the application of computing and information technology in solving relevant disability problems'.

Based at the Open University the SHLD research group provide information on education resources, research projects and publications on the history of learning disabilities

The United Nations Statistics division maintains a comprehensive international repository on disability statistics, The data shows the basic prevalence of disability in countries and aims to show socio-economic conditions of people with and without disabilities around the world

A platform for people with disabilities to share their priorities, their concerns and their lived experiences of health through stories as told by them.

The Academic Network of European Disability experts (ANED) was created by the European Commission in December 2007 to establish and maintain a pan-European academic network that will support policy development in collaboration with the Commission's Disability Unit. Reports can be searched by theme and by country.

Barnardo's Policy and Research Unit have conducted a wide variety of research into how disability can affect the lives of children and families.

Based at the University of Bristol the centre brings together researchers working on mental health themes including addiction, depression, neurodevelopmental disorders, personality disorder, schizophrenia and psychosis, suicide and self harm.

An interdisciplinary network of researchers working in areas such as the sociology of disability, disability politics and policy, disability law and human rights, inclusive design (transport systems and assistive technologies) and Deaf Studies.

A 5 year UK wide programme led by disabled people, for disabled people, aiming to build better evidence about enabling disabled people to achieve independent living, and to inform future policy and service provision.

A charity run by and for people with lived experience of disability or health conditions, providing information and campaigning on issues including the law, benefits, hate cime, transport and social care

The GDI Hub is a research, teaching and innovation centre based on the Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park, dedicated to carrying out inter-disciplinary research to create new devices, services and environments for a more inclusive world.

The International Centre for Evidence in Disability is a research group based at the London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine which aims to provide evidence to improve the health and wellbeing of people with disabilities globally

An alliance of 14 global and regional organisations of persons with disabilities advocating at the United Nations for a more inclusive global environment.

Based at UCL The Leonard Cheshire Research Centre has been undertaking research on disability and international development for more than two decades, and has become a world-renowned research facility and think tank on global disability issues

A site providing information about some of the issues, problems and challenges facing individuals on the autism spectrum. Although new research is no longer funded, the site still provides access to completed research projects

NNDR is a multidisciplinary network of disability researchers interested in cultural, societal and environmental dimensions of disability and marginalization.

The Oxford University Disability Law and Policy Project aims to develop initiatives which will bring new perspectives to academic analyses of law and policy, and to generate policy-relevant research which better engages with the demands of a diverse population

The RAND Center for Disability Research produces research investigating the social and economic causes and consequences of disability in the United States.

The Research Institute for Disabled Consumers is a UK charity providing independent research for disabled and older consumers

The RNIB provides access to research reports covering topics such as transport and travel, education, employment, finance, and emotional support in relation to sight loss

The RNID site provides information on all aspects of living with hearing loss, as well as information about research projects intended to combat or cure hearing loss.

The Disability Research Group brings together academics from across the university who work on topics related to disability and are interested in exchanging ideas and knowledge. It aims to foster a comprehensive and multi-faceted understanding of how disability is, and can be, approached by scholars and scientists across disciplines

Research Collaboration – funded by the White Rose Consortium – brings together researchers from the disciplines of critical psychology, education, sociology and social policy across the Universities of Sheffield, Leeds and York to interrogate the ideology and practice of ableism.