During your course, you may need to find out information about companies. The type of things you might want to find out include:
For a quick search you can often start by looking at the company's website. They may provide their report & accounts, press releases and some key personnel information. All companies vary as to how much information they provide on their websites, and sometimes you might need to look at a company's parent to find anything useful.
We have lots of useful databases that provide a huge amount of current and historical data & analysis for companies. Have a look below...
You can look up a company on these databases to find basic contact details, what the company does, the structure of the company etc.You can also use these resources to find financial information about a company. You can find out about profits, turnover and numbers of employees and other details. Some of these resources enable you to create lists of companies that match certain criteria.
A comprehensive, global database of banks' financial statements, ratings and intelligence.
Data about more than 40,000 public and non-public companies and 225,000 key executives. Includes in depth industry analyses, information on a company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers and more.
A database of listed companies, banks and insurance companies worldwide.
This resource replaces Osiris from December 2022.
Our subscription entitles us access to companies described as Very Large. See description below
Orbis Europe is a database containing financial information on over 13 million public and private companies covering around 40 European countries. You can search for specific companies, companies that match a profile and compare peer companies.
This resource replaces Amadeus from December 2022.
Our subscription entitles us access to companies described as Very Large and Large. See description below
Contains information about mergers and acquisitions, IPO and venture capital deals with links to financial company information.
This resource replaces Zephyr from December 2022.
Useful company websites:
You can search Summon for online reference materials.
Several of our databases look at industries and sectors, giving analysis, financial data and trends.
Global company and industry information.
Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
A comprehensive collection of UK industry market research and industry risk ratings. Includes statistics, analysis, forecasts and Brexit Impact Reports.
Provides consumer and market research reports.
When accessing Mintel you may reach a screen that asks for the Client/Campus login. Please select the 'Login here' option next to 'Need federated login?'. You will be directed to the University Single Sign on page, please log in as normal.
Market data and reports for industries, countries and consumers.
Please be aware that the first time you use the service you will need to create an account, which requires information about your full name and course.
Access to over 2,500 business case studies covering a wide range of topics and industries, as well as leading global brands and companies.
Full-text articles in business magazines, scholarly journals and trade publications.
Journal articles, newspapers, dissertations and market research reports in many subjects, but especially business and management.
Contains information about mergers and acquisitions, IPO and venture capital deals with links to financial company information.
This resource replaces Zephyr from December 2022.
You will need to login using your University email address and password to view the video. For the best experience please view on a larger screen such as a tablet or laptop instead of a mobile phone.
How to run a basic search in Orbis and FAME:
Creating a list of companies in Orbis and FAME:
D&B Hoover - basic searches:
Market research information databases:
IBISworld basic search:
Mintel reports basic search:
If you need help with finding information, then please contact your Academic Liaison Librarian for advice.
