Use the resources listed on this page to find relevant information on topics in Film Theatre & Television. They will give you access to both primary and secondary sources of information.
References to published materials in the arts and humanities including journal articles, letters, editorials and reviews.
This database is part of the Web of Science Core Collection. To search just this part select 'Arts & Humanities Citation Index' from the 'Editions' drop down list.
Introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics and periods in the subject areas of literature, philosophy, classics, religion and cultural studies.
Historical summaries covering a range of topics primarily in the humanities.
Plays and supporting critical and contextual material relating to works from the classical era to the present day. The collection features the theatre lists of Methuen Drama, the Arden Shakespeare and Faber and Faber, as well as production photos from the Victoria and Albert Museum and The American Shakespeare Center. Also available are plays, screen plays and theatrebooks from Nick Hern Books; Playwrights Canada Press, a collection of plays by emerging and established Canadian playwrights; plays from the Oberon Books collection; Shakespeare and Early Modern Drama Videos covering key plays and acting techniques; and the National Theatre collection, containing 30 filmed performances from the venue.
Google Scholar is the academic version of Google. It allows you to search for scholarly literature (journal articles, books, patents) from a variety of sources, including academic publishers, professional societies, and online repositories.
Archive of journal articles covering most subjects.
Please read the JSTOR terms and conditions of use before accessing JSTOR. You may not download an entire issue of a journal from the JSTOR database or keep multiple electronic or paper copies of any article. You may not alter or distribute any Content, including but not limited to transmission via email to another computer.
References to publications covering literature, language, linguistics and folklore worldwide.
Access to articles in over 500 journal titles in arts, humanities and social sciences.
Gives references, and some full-text access, to sources relating to film and television.
A yearbook of Shakespeare studies and production providing full-text access to articles and features, images and production photographs from 1948 to the present. Each volume covers a selected theme, specific play or group of plays, as well as reviews of reviews of textual and critical studies, and the major British performances for the year.
Box of Broadcasts (BoB) is a collection of TV and radio programmes from free-to-air channels. Set new recordings and playback programmes already recorded. Content back to 1990s.
A freely available database of over 50,000 sound recordings from the British Library Sound Archive.
Plays and supporting critical and contextual material relating to works from the classical era to the present day. The collection features the theatre lists of Methuen Drama, the Arden Shakespeare and Faber and Faber, as well as production photos from the Victoria and Albert Museum and The American Shakespeare Center. Also available are plays, screen plays and theatrebooks from Nick Hern Books; Playwrights Canada Press, a collection of plays by emerging and established Canadian playwrights; plays from the Oberon Books collection; Shakespeare and Early Modern Drama Videos covering key plays and acting techniques; and the National Theatre collection, containing 30 filmed performances from the venue.
Access to thousands of films for the arts & humanities.
Listings of UK television and radio programmes including terrestrial, cable, and satellite television (with regional variations), all national and many local radio stations since 1995.
Listings of the London Edition of the TVTimes.
The University's Special Collections in
clude several collections relating to Film, Theatre and Television:
This playlist of two videos shows you how to prepare for and perform a literature search. The first video introduces literature searches and their role. The second video covers using the search operators AND and OR to create a search statement, and explains the role of wildcards and truncation in constructing a comprehensive search. This information is also available in written guides - see the links below.
Our Inter-Library Loans service can get articles, books and other publications not held at Reading from other libraries (usually from the British Library).
For more information see our webpages: