It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Geography and environmental science: E-resources
A guide to finding information in geography and environmental science. Includes links to key resources and sources of help.
Gives references to journal articles, books, conference proceedings and patents in all subjects. Also offers extensive tools to analyse results, and measure impact for articles, journals and authors.
Scopus gives references to peer-reviewed literature in all subject areas. It includes journal articles (including 'in press' items), books, conference proceedings and patents.
It is possible to search for topics, authors (including by ORCID ID), author affiliation and funders.
Extensive analytical tools also allow you to:
-analyse your search results by year, source, author, affiliation, country or territory, document type and subject area
-compare journal impact to help you decide where to publish
-see the citation impact and scholarly community engagement for an article
-analyse the citation trend for any given article, set of results or for a list of author documents
-view an author profile to analyse and track an individual's citation history
Google Scholar is the academic version of Google. It allows you to search for scholarly literature (journal articles, books, patents) from a variety of sources, including academic publishers, professional societies, and online repositories.
Link to our full-text
You can set your preferences on Google Scholar to show links to full-text articles in all of our e-journals.
1) Click on the three lines on the top left of the home screen.
2) Select 'Settings'.
3) Select 'Library Links' on the left of the screen.
4) In the search box type 'Reading' and select the 'Reading University Library - Full-Text @ Reading' option.
5) Save your settings.
When you do a search, look for a 'Full-Text @ Reading' link to the right of references in your results list. This indicates that we have a subscription which will give you access to the article. Click on this link to access the full-text.
If the 'Full-text @ Reading' link does not appear next to a reference it indicates that it isn't covered by our subscriptions and you probably won't be able to access the article.
If you are off-campus you will need to login to access the articles. You will usually be prompted to login as soon as you click on the link to the article. If this doesn't happen you will need to look for an institutional or Shibboleth login link once you reach the journal's website. For more guidance see Accessing e-journals.
Google Scholar Button
Google have produced a plugin for Chrome, Firefox and Safari which allows you to easily search for and cite articles. Highlight the title of an article in the page you are reading and then click the Scholar button and it will search for the article on Google Scholar in a pop up window. To get a formatted reference for a search result press the quote button next to it and the reference will appear in three different styles.
To make the most of this tool set up the University of Reading as a 'Library Link' using the instructions above.
Agcensus contains grid square agricultural census data for England, Scotland and Wales which gives realistic estimates of: what was produced; how much was produced; and where it was produced.
The Agricultural Census is conducted in June each year by the government departments dealing with Agriculture and Rural Affairs for Scotland, England, and Wales. Each farmer declares the agricultural activity on the land via a postal questionnaire. The respective government departments collect the 150 items of data and publish information relating to farm holdings for recognised geographies.
England and Wales: 1969-1997
Key database giving references for agricultural publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.
Free, open access source of unpublished (non-peer reviewed) preprints across the agricultural and allied sciences. It is hosted and managed by CABI, an international, inter-governmental, not-for-profit organization. As well as agriculture, it covers soil science, water resources and environmental science.
A multidisciplinary database containing references to journal articles covering all subject areas from 1990 onwards. Browse specific journal issues to keep up-to-date with articles published in journals of interest.
Gives references in publications covering agriculture, forestry, leisure recreation and tourism, soil science, land/water management and rural development.
CAB Abstracts covers the following subjects:
- Agricultural and environmental economics
- Agricultural engineering
- Animal production
- Biodeterioration and biodegradation
- Crop protection
- Dairy science and technology
- Forestry, forest products and agroforestry
- Human nutrition
- Leisure, recreation and tourism
- Medical and veterinary parasitology
- Natural resources and environmental issues
- Plant breeding, crop production and horticulture
- Soil science, land/water management and fertilizer technology
- Rural development
- Veterinary medicine
Gives references to journal articles, books and book chapters, conference papers, theses, patents and standards.
Covers 1910- (most of the early coverage is purely agriculture-related).
We also have access to CAB Abstracts on CAB Direct.
UK census data available via the UK Data Service. Includes links to census boundary data in formats suitable for use in GIS.
Includes links to:
- Aggregate statistics. There are two web-based interfaces that enable users to access and extract data from the aggregate statistics outputs from the 1971, 1981, 1991, 2001 and 2011 censuses. Casweb, the older interface, contains UK census data up to 2001. InFuse contains the 2011 and 2001 census aggregate data for England and Wales.
- Microdata. Samples of Anonymised Records (SARs), which are samples of individual person-level records, are currently available from the 1991 and 2001 censuses, and will be available from the 2011 census in due course. Most SAR files can be downloaded from the Census microdata page.
- Digitised boundary datasets, digitised representations of the underlying geography of the censuses, are available on the Census boundary data site. They are available in many Geographical Information System (GIS) formats. Includes 1991, 2001 and 2011 UK census boundaries and some historic boundaries.
Data can be downloaded to use with appropriate application software such as GIS or CAD, or as maps generated by Digimap online using the Roam facility.
Using Roam you can:
-View maps of any location in Great Britain at a series of predefined scales
-Print maps at a variety of scales and sizes
-Add your own annotations
-Ordnance Survey Digimap offers MasterMap - the most detailed current map dataset
-Ordnance Survey Digimap includes Digital Terrain Model data for download.
-Ordnance Survey Digimap includes Scottish Improvement Service data, 37 datasets from Scottish local authorities, available for download only.
-Historic Digimap provides access to 1:10 560, 1:2500 and 1:1250 data from 1846-1996; two maps of the same area can be compared on screen at once.
-Geology Digimap provides access to bedrock and Quaternary geological maps at scales of 1:625 000, 1:250 000 and 1:50 000.
-Marine Digimap includes hydrographic charts and marine themes data
-Environment Digimap includes land cover data for 1997, 2000 and 2007 from the Centre of Ecology and Hydrology.
-Aerial Digimap includes aerial imagery in a single seamless coverage, captured since 2000, at 25 cm resolution.
-Aerial Digimap includes access to Lidar Digimap - download Lidar data for use in GIS and CAD applications.
International statistics relating to food and agriculture.
Much content is freely available. We do not have a subscription, although individuals can register and download a restricted number of records.
International statistics on:
-Codex Alimentarius food quality control
-exports by destination
-fertilizer and pesticides
-food aid shipments
-food balance sheets
-forest and fishery products
-land use and irrigation
Gives references to journal articles, books, reviews and selected chapters in anthropology, economics, political science and sociology. Also covers related subjects : agriculture, forestry, leisure recreation and tourism, soil science, land/water management and rural development.
Also covers related subjects, such as: agriculture, social policy, archaeology, business studies, criminology, education, environmental issues, history, law, and social work.
Gives references to journal articles, books, reviews and selected chapters. Good coverage of international material.
International Historical Statistics is a large collection of statistical data from around the world, covering a wide range of socio-economic topics. The collection includes data on the Americas and Europe, but also hard-to-find data on Africa, Asia and Oceania.
Subjects covered include:
-Education, schools, universities, higher education
-Government expenditure and national accounts
-Trade, imports and exports
-TV and radio
-Wholesale and consumer prices
Archive of journal articles covering most subjects.
Please read the JSTOR terms and conditions of use before accessing JSTOR. You may not download an entire issue of a journal from the JSTOR database or keep multiple electronic or paper copies of any article. You may not alter or distribute any Content, including but not limited to transmission via email to another computer.
Full-text archive of journal articles covering most subjects. Covers 1880s up to a 'moving wall' usually of between 2 and 5 years. Each journal title has its own 'moving wall'.
We subscribe to the following JSTOR packages: Arts & Sciences I-XI, Biological Sciences, Health & General Sciences and Ireland Collection.
We also subscribe to the 19th Century British Pamphlets collection.
An integrated chemical information system. Use to find physical properties, structures and reactions. Includes inorganic (Gmelin) and organic chemistry (Beilstein). also gives references to articles and patents.
-Beilstein Database - covers organic chemistry from 1771 to date. Based on Beilstein's Handbuch der organischen Chemie. It contains over 8.2 million structures, 10 million reactions (making it the world's largest reactions database), 20 million property records and 50 million hyperlinks. It also gives references to journal articles from 1980- present including abstracts and links to full text for articles Reading readers are entitled to access.
-Gmelin Database - covers inorganic and organometallic compounds from 1772 to (presently) 1995. It contains all the structural, factual, and bibliographic data cited in the Gmelin Handbuch der anorganischen Chemie. The database currently comprises over 1.5 million compounds, including glasses, alloys, ceramics, minerals and coordination compounds, and 1.3 million reactions.
-Patent Chemistry Database - Organic chemistry and life science patents from US (since 1976), World and European patent publications (since 1978).
Provides references to journal articles and other publications in all subject areas. Includes the Arts and Humanities, Science, and Social Science Citation Indexes.
Check which indexes you wish to search under 'More settings'.
All subjects. Allows simultaneous searching of:
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index
- Book Citation Index
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index
- Current Chemical Reactions
- Emerging Sources Citation Index
- Index Chemicus
- Science Citation Index
- Social Sciences Citation Index
If you are on campus you will be able to access most e-journals and e-books, and some databases, without entering a username and password because your IP address identifies you as being at the University of Reading.
For any that require a login, see the Off-campus tab.
When you are off-campus you will need to login to identify yourself as a member of the University of Reading to gain access to our protected databases, e-books and e-journals.
Your login details
You login in the same way as for Blackboard - via Microsoft. Just enter your University username followed by @student.reading.ac.uk (e.g. firstname.lastname@example.org) and your password. If this is the first time you have logged in via this method when off-campus you will be asked to complete a Multi-Factor Authentication. For more information see:
For most resources, if you follow a link from our website or catalogues your login will be picked up automatically or you will be prompted to login straightaway.
If you access resources via another route you will need to look for a login option once you reach the resource you are trying to access. Look for an institutional or shibboleth login option and pick 'University of Reading' from a list of institutions. This will then pick up your login or prompt you to login. For more information about institutional login, please see the link below:
This playlist of two videos shows you how to prepare for and perform a literature search. The first video introduces literature searches and their role. The second video covers using the search operators AND and OR to create a search statement, and explains the role of wildcards and truncation in constructing a comprehensive search. This information is also available in written guides - see the links below.
If you are unable to view these videos on YouTube they are also available on YuJa or Stream (University username and password required):