It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A guide to finding information relating to law. Includes links to key resources and sources of help.
Digitised exact page images of the contents of more than 2,000 law and law-related journals, foreign and international law materials, classic legal treatises from the 16th to the 20th centuries, US treaties and US Supreme Court materials.
Full-text access to digitised collections of specialist legal, political and historical sources, most notably:
-Foreign & International Law Resources Database - international yearbooks and periodicals, US law digests, and decisions of international tribunals.
-Kluwer Law International Journal Library - archive of journals published by Kluwer Law International.
-Law Journal Library - extensive archival collection of academic legal journals, from the first volume to the most recent volume allowed by the publishers (typically 2-5 years ago). American bias, but includes titles published in the Commonwealth, including the UK.
Other libraries include:
Canada Supreme Court Reports - official bilingual law report series of the case law of the Supreme Court of Canada (Cour suprême du Canada), dating from 1876.
Early American Case Law - assorted US law report series covering the late 19th to the 20th century, including the Federal Cases and the Trinity Series.
English Reports - reproductions of cases reported in various early series of law reports (nominate reports), spanning 176 volumes up to 1867.
European Centre for Minority Issues - published reports and working papers.
International Law Association Reports - ILA conference reports, discussions at working sessions and adopted resolutions relating to the study, clarification and development of international law.
Legal Classics - historic and rare legal and jurisprudential works.
Pentagon Papers - US Department of Defense’s history of American foreign relations with Vietnam from 1945 to 1967.
Revised Statutes of Canada - compilation of federal laws passed by the Parliament of Canada since 1867.
Statutes of the Realm - collection of Acts of the Parliaments of England and Great Britain for the period 1235-1713.
US Supreme Court Library - the official US Reports (1754 onwards), slip opinions (2002 onwards), and books and periodicals relating to the US Supreme Court.
US Treaties and Agreements Library - all US treaties, whether in force, expired, or not yet officially published.
Women and the Law (Peggy) - US focused collections of texts on women's role in society and the law.
World Constitutions Illustrated - current constitutions plus scholarly works on constitutional topics.
Substantial collection of primary and secondary legal sources, including UK, EU and US case law and legislation, international law materials, British and American legal journals, and modern UK national and regional newspapers.
Full-text of UK, US, EU and Commonwealth legal sources. Contents include:
-UK cases including The Law Reports, All England Law Reports, and English Reports
-Cases of the Irish, Northern Ireland, and Scottish Courts from 1945.
-All current Public General Acts and Statutory Instruments of England and Wales
-Halsbury's Laws of England
-Hill and Redman Law of Landlord and Tenant
-European Union cases from 1954
-European Union legislation
-Commonwealth cases and legislation, particularly from Australia, Canada, New Zealand and South Africa
-US Federal and State case law
-US Federal legislation
-Comprehensive collection of US law reviews from 1982
-UK broadsheets as well as local newspapers in the UK
Searchable online collection of books published by Oxford University Press in the field of international law, including authoritative legal works, classic texts, research on current legal problems and practical reference books.
Books span the following four main subject categories:
-Authoritative treatises in their area of law
-Classic, influential works on international law
-Flagship research on current legal problems
-Practical reference works and commentaries
Full-text of the scholarly series the Collected Courses of the Hague Academy of International Law, expertly covering topics in public and private international law, plus research papers from Academy workshops and monographs (books).
Full-text of the prestigious Collected Courses of the Hague Academy of International Law series, starting with Volume 1 in 1923 and containing courses delivered by academics, practitioners and other leading experts in public and private international law.
Research tool for identifying the status and judicial treatment of case law and legislation, with links provided to available full-text versions on Library databases, including Westlaw UK and LexisLibrary.
Covers UK case law (1163-), Acts of Parliament (1235-), Statutory Instruments (1797-) and EU law (1952-). Some full-text case judgments are provided.
Extensive collection of primary and secondary legal sources, including UK, EU and US case law and legislation, British and American legal journals, an index to British legal journal articles published since 1986 and a dictionary of legal terms.
- UK cases, including The Law Reports, Weekly Law Reports and English Reports
- Fully consolidated laws in force, including Acts from 1267 and Statutory Instruments from 1948.
- European Union cases from 1954
- European Union legislation
- Index to British legal journals from 1986 (with links to full-text where hosted on Westlaw UK)
- Full-text British and American legal journals (varying date coverage)
- Comprehensive collection of US law reviews from the 1980s and selected journals from common law jurisdictions, including Canada, Australia and New Zealand.
- US Federal and State case law
- US Federal legislation
When you are off-campus you will need to login via our E-resources login page to identify yourself as a member of the University of Reading to gain access to our protected databases, e-books and e-journals. This login page will only appear when you try to access a resource, it is not a portal you login to prior to selecting a resource.
Articles in business magazines, journals and trade publications, some from 1886 onwards, on business and commercial topics, including banking, finance and trade.
Coverage includes: accounting; banking; finance; international business; management; marketing; real estate; regional studies; sales; trade; and technology.
To see a list of the full-text journals select the Title list option from the EBSCOhost home page. Also includes references to articles in many other journals.
Also includes: books/monographs; case studies; conference proceedings; country economic reports; over 5,000 company records; industry reports; market research reports; SWOT analysis; and working papers.
Details of journal articles, books and conference papers, including citation data, with extensive subject coverage of the social sciences, 1996 onwards.
Scopus gives references to peer-reviewed literature in all subject areas. It includes journal articles (including 'in press' items), books, conference proceedings and patents.
It is possible to search for topics, authors (including by ORCID ID), author affiliation and funders.
Extensive analytical tools also allow you to:
-analyse your search results by year, source, author, affiliation, country or territory, document type and subject area
-compare journal impact to help you decide where to publish
-see the citation impact and scholarly community engagement for an article
-analyse the citation trend for any given article, set of results or for a list of author documents
-view an author profile to analyse and track an individual's citation history
Details of article content and citation counts for social science disciplinary journals, including key law and criminology, 1970 onwards.
Includes: Anthropology; History; Industrial relations; Law ; Linguistics; Philosophy; Political science ; Psychology and psychiatry; Public health; Social issues; Social work; Sociology; Urban studies; Women's studies.