LibGuides: Law: Home

Get started by using books

Great for summaries and background information books are a reliable, easy to understand source. Most of the books for Law can be found on the 2nd Floor of the Library.

Find your reading list

Use your module reading list to find books recommended by your lecturer. Find the link on the module site on Blackboard or via the link below.

Find books on a topic using the catalogue

Alternatively search for a specific book or books on a topic using the Enterprise catalogue (search box below).

Extend your search using journal articles

For the latest information on specific topics use journal articles.

Finding journal articles

Summon articles you can read straightaway

For quick access to articles available to students at Reading search Summon for your topic using the box below.

Video on how to use Summon

Go one step beyond...

Explore further using these key resources for your subject:

Lexis+ [full-text] This link opens in a new window
Formerly LexisLibrary. Use to find UK, US, EU and Commonwealth legal sources. To access content you may be prompted to enter your full name and agree to Lexis' terms and conditions. For educational use only (see 'Additional Info' for restrictions on use).
Full-text of UK, US, EU and Commonwealth legal sources. Contents include:

-UK cases including The Law Reports, All England Law Reports, and English Reports
-Cases of the Irish, Northern Ireland, and Scottish Courts from 1945.
-All current Public General Acts and Statutory Instruments of England and Wales
-Halsbury's Laws of England
-Hill and Redman Law of Landlord and Tenant
-European Union cases from 1954
-European Union legislation
-Commonwealth cases and legislation, particularly from Australia, Canada, New Zealand and South Africa
-US Federal and State case law
-US Federal legislation
-Comprehensive collection of US law reviews from 1982
-UK broadsheets as well as local newspapers in the UK

Restrictions on use
Lexis+ may only be used for educational purposes. It must not be used for the purpose of University business processes (including but not limited to Health & Safety, Legal Services) or for monetary reward (including but not limited to knowledge transfer partnerships). For the full Lexis+ terms of use, please access the resource using the link above and click on the "Terms & Conditions" at the bottom of the page.

Help and guidance
-For comprehensive guidance see the LexisLibrary support site which includes training videos, tips and user guides.
-A range of training videos are available on the LexisNexis UK YouTube channel.
-Complete the LexisLibrary research certificate.
Westlaw UK [full-text] This link opens in a new window
Full-text of UK, US EU and Commonwealth legal sources.
Contents include:

- UK cases, including The Law Reports, Weekly Law Reports and English Reports
- Fully consolidated laws in force, including Acts from 1267 and Statutory Instruments from 1948.
- European Union cases from 1954
- European Union legislation
- Index to British legal journals from 1986 (with links to full-text where hosted on Westlaw UK)
- Full-text British and American legal journals (varying date coverage)
- Comprehensive collection of US law reviews from the 1980s and selected journals from common law jurisdictions, including Canada, Australia and New Zealand.
- US Federal and State case law
- US Federal legislation

Help and guidance
For basic, introductory guidance see the Westlaw getting started guide (PDF).
For more advanced guidance see the further resources on the Westlaw customer support site.
Complete the Westlaw UK certification training, an interactive walk-through of Westlaw UK, to demonstrate your skills by becoming a Certified user.

Explore more resources for Law

Your librarian

Gordon Connell

Email Me

Contact:

0118 3787142

Subjects: Economics, International relations, Law, Politics and international relations

Current Awareness (RSS feed)

Updated content from an award winning Inner Temple Library blog, providing up-to-date information on new case law, changes in legislation and legal news from England and Wales. See What is RSS? for a basic guide on how RSS feeds such as this can help you stay up to date with legal developments.