It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A guide to finding information relating to law. Includes links to key resources and sources of help.
This guide cannot - and does not aim to - provide an exhaustive list of websites for researching law. To identify and access more sites of potential value, the resource listings in the specialist portals below are a good place to start, as well as any details of useful websites provided in the handbook for your specific module.
Google Scholar is the academic version of Google. It allows you to search for scholarly literature (journal articles, books, patents) from a variety of sources, including academic publishers, professional societies, and online repositories.
Link to our full-text
You can set your preferences on Google Scholar to show links to full-text articles in all of our e-journals.
1) Click on the three lines on the top left of the home screen.
2) Select 'Settings'.
3) Select 'Library Links' on the left of the screen.
4) In the search box type 'Reading' and select the 'Reading University Library - Full-Text @ Reading' option.
5) Save your settings.
When you do a search, look for a 'Full-Text @ Reading' link to the right of references in your results list. This indicates that we have a subscription which will give you access to the article. Click on this link to access the full-text.
If the 'Full-text @ Reading' link does not appear next to a reference it indicates that it isn't covered by our subscriptions and you probably won't be able to access the article.
If you are off-campus you will need to login to access the articles. You will usually be prompted to login as soon as you click on the link to the article. If this doesn't happen you will need to look for an institutional or Shibboleth login link once you reach the journal's website. For more guidance see Accessing e-journals.
Google Scholar Button
Google have produced a plugin for Chrome, Firefox and Safari which allows you to easily search for and cite articles. Highlight the title of an article in the page you are reading and then click the Scholar button and it will search for the article on Google Scholar in a pop up window. To get a formatted reference for a search result press the quote button next to it and the reference will appear in three different styles.
To make the most of this tool set up the University of Reading as a 'Library Link' using the instructions above.
Refugee Right Europe (RRE) is a human rights organisation, registered as a UK charity and founded in late 2015. The main focus of the organisation is advocating for refugees and displaced people seeking protection in Europe, using field and desk research conducted by RRE and partners as the foundation for our advocacy work. The research conducted by RRE has brought together the voices of more than 6,000 refugees and displaced people in Europe from 2016-present, and highlights the experiences faced by groups of refugees on European soil, specifically in; France (Calais, Dunkirk, and Paris) the Greek Islands (Lesvos and Chios), the Italian-French border of Ventimiglia, Belgium (Brussels) and the UK (Birmingham and London), as well as Germany and Spain.