LibGuides: Finding Parliamentary & government publications: Further Parliamentary Resources

Useful resources

BBC Parliament
Commentary on the activities of the UK Parliament and devolved assemblies, with selected live feeds of debates and committees.
The British Library: Parliamentary Papers
The British Library's guide to their holdings of Parliamentary Publications, and suggestions for further resources.
The History of Parliament
The History of Parliament is a research project creating a comprehensive account of parliamentary politics in England, then Britain, from their origins in the thirteenth century.
National Archives: Parliament research guide
Helpful guide to holdings of Parliamentary materials at The National Archives, the official archive of the UK Government, and elsewhere. The Archives often holds documents contributing to the creation of particular papers rather than the final version.
National Library of Scotland
The official documents held by the National Library of Scotland, including Records of the Parliament of Scotland pre-1707.
Parliamentary Archives
Website of the official archive of the Houses of Parliament. As well as its physical holdings, an increasing amount of historical material is being made available digitally on the site. Resources include an archive of Parliament's social media and web accounts.
UK Parliament
Official site for information and documentation on Parliamentary business and affairs. Use the FAQs for further help with finding resources. Both the House of Commons and Lords operate enquiry services to answer questions about Parliament's current work.

Newspapers

The proceedings of the UK Parliament and devolved assemblies are reported and commented on in national newspapers, most notably The Guardian, The Telegraph and The Times. You can access the historical archives of these newspapers through our subscription databases, with current and recent editions of these and other titles included in our full-text newspaper databases such as LexisLibrary and ProQuest News and Newspapers.

Each database covers different date ranges. To find the right database for you, use our guide on finding newspaper sources below.

Finding newspapers
How to find and access newspapers in the University of Reading Library.

Citing references

Whenever you refer to another person's work in your own essay, dissertation or article you must acknowledge them and give full details of your source. You risk being accused of plagiarism if you fail to do so.

For general information on referencing, including an explanation of different citation systems, and guidance on citing specific types of publication, see our Citing references guide.

Guide to citing references
Includes guidance on why, when and how to use references correctly in your academic writing.

You should use the referencing system specified by your Department. For help with citing a specific type of publication:

Contact your Academic Liaison Librarian

For advice on using references in your work, and how to use them to support your arguments, consult the guidance on the Study Advice website or make an appointment with them.

Study Advice
Helping students to achieve study success with guides, video tutorials, seminars and one-to-one advice sessions.
Make an appointment with a Study Adviser