It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Business, informatics, management and accounting: Company information
A guide to finding information in business, informatics, management and accounting. Includes links to key resources and sources of help.
During your course, you may need to find out information about companies. This guide will help you to find some of the key resources to use, but please do ask us for help if you need to! The type of things you might want to find out include:
Company details - where they are, what they do, who the directors are? What is the structure of the company (e.g. parent companies, subsidiary companies)
Financial data - is the company making a profit? What is their turnover? Where is their most recent annual report and accounts
Industry analysis - how does the company compare to its peers? Who are the competitors? What is the market like for this industry?
For a quick search you can often start by looking at the company's website. They may provide their report & accounts, press releases and some key personnel information. All companies vary as to how much information they provide on their websites, and sometimes you might need to look at a company's parent to find anything useful.
We have lots of useful databases that provide a huge amount of current and historical data & analysis for companies. Have a look below...
Company details and financial data
You can look up a company on these databases to find basic contact details, what the company does, the structure of the company etc.You can also use these resources to find financial information about a company. You can find out about profits, turnover and numbers of employees and other details. Some of these resources enable you to create lists of companies that match certain criteria.
Amadeus is a database containing financial information on over 13 million public and private companies covering around 40 European countries. You can search for specific companies, companies that match a profile and compare peer companies.
Help and guidance
For help using this resource login via one of the links above and click on the 'Help' option. Then select the 'User guide'.
A comprehensive, global database of banks' financial statements, ratings and intelligence.
- Detailed financials - statements are in multiple formats including a new universal format to compare banks globally
- Interim data
- Ratings, and rating reports, from FitchRatings, Moody's, Standard & Poor's and Capital Intelligence
- Country risk and country finance reports
- Stock data for listed banks
- Directors and contacts
- Original filings/images
- Detailed bank structures
- Economic country profiles and outlooks
- Business and related news
- M&A deals and rumours
- Fitch Bank Credit Model for 11,000 banks
Help and guidance
For help using this resource, login and click on the help link which is the question mark icon.
Data about more than 40,000 public and non-public companies and 225,000 key executives. Includes in depth industry analyses, information on a company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers and more.
Companies House provides free basic company details about UK registered companies. The web site can be used to track down companies that have changed their names several times. The site also includes information about the activities and strategic direction of Companies House.
The EDGAR database gives free access to the documents filed by US companies with the US Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC), filings date back to 1993. Information available is similar to that filed at Companies House.
Market data and reports for industries, countries and consumers.
University username and password required via an Institutional login when off-campus. Please be aware that the first time you use the service you will need to create an account, which requires information about your full name and course.
Passport is a global market information database and analysis tool containing comprehensive data and reports across all industries, countries and consumers. It can be used to find statistics and reports for:
- Company analysis
- Consumer and household profiling
- Country profiling
- Industry analysis
- Lifestyle analysis
- Modelling and forecasting
- Trend monitoring
Help and guidance
Once connected click on the 'Help' link for videos, FAQs and other types of guidance.
FT.com is only available to Henley Business School staff and students. You can login and register for an account via the ARC online.
FT.com provides coverage of UK and international business, finance, economic and political news as well as comment and analysis from leading journalists and insight into management trends and new developments. It also gives access to today's paper and an 8 year archive of FT news and analysis.
Full-text articles in business magazines, scholarly journals and trade publications.
Coverage includes: accounting; banking; finance; international business; management; marketing; real estate; regional studies; sales; trade; and technology.
To see a list of the full-text journals select the Title list option from the EBSCOhost home page. Also includes references to articles in many other journals.
Also includes: books/monographs; case studies; conference proceedings; country economic reports; over 5,000 company records; industry reports; market research reports; SWOT analysis; and working papers.
Journal articles, newspapers, dissertations and market research reports in many subjects, but especially business and management.
ProQuest Central gives full-text access to thousands of journals covering more than 160 subject areas.
It also provides access to: hundreds of full text U.S., Canadian and international newspapers including The Wall Street Journal: more than 50,000 full text dissertations; and thousands of market reports across 43 industries in 40 countries, spanning the UK, Western Europe, Eastern Europe, Asia Pacific, North America, and Latin America.
Search all the content simultaneously or click on 'Change databases' at the top of the screen to select specific ones.