Law: Journal articles

Coverage includes: accounting; banking; finance; international business; management; marketing; real estate; regional studies; sales; trade; and technology.

To see a list of the full-text journals select the Title list option from the EBSCOhost home page. Also includes references to articles in many other journals.

Also includes: books/monographs; case studies; conference proceedings; country economic reports; over 5,000 company records; industry reports; market research reports; SWOT analysis; and working papers.

Covers 1886-

Help and guidance
EBSCOhost Advanced Search Help
Viewing results in EBSCOhost
Basic search video tutorial
Advanced search video tutorial

It is unclear which publishers are included in Google Scholar, so it shouldn't be used as your only source for a comprehensive literature search. For references to reliable, academic sources search our Summon discovery service or databases covering your subject.

Link to our full-text
You can set your preferences on Google Scholar to show links to full-text articles in all of our e-journals.

1) Click on the three lines on the top left of the home screen.
2) Select 'Settings'.
3) Select 'Library Links' on the left of the screen.
4) In the search box type 'Reading' and select the 'Reading University Library - Full-Text @ Reading' option.
5) Save your settings.

When you do a search, look for a 'Full-Text @ Reading' link to the right of references in your results list. This indicates that we have a subscription which will give you access to the article. Click on this link to access the full-text.

If the 'Full-text @ Reading' link does not appear next to a reference it indicates that it isn't covered by our subscriptions and you probably won't be able to access the article.

If you are off-campus you will need to login to access the articles. You will usually be prompted to login as soon as you click on the link to the article. If this doesn't happen you will need to look for an institutional or Shibboleth login link once you reach the journal's website. For more guidance see Accessing e-journals.

Google Scholar Button
Google have produced a plugin for Chrome, Firefox and Safari which allows you to easily search for and cite articles. Highlight the title of an article in the page you are reading and then click the Scholar button and it will search for the article on Google Scholar in a pop up window. To get a formatted reference for a search result press the quote button next to it and the reference will appear in three different styles.

To make the most of this tool set up the University of Reading as a 'Library Link' using the instructions above.

Full-text access to digitised collections of specialist legal, political and historical sources, most notably:

-Foreign & International Law Resources Database - international yearbooks and periodicals, US law digests, and decisions of international tribunals.
-Kluwer Law International Journal Library - archive of journals published by Kluwer Law International.
-Law Journal Library - extensive archival collection of academic legal journals, from the first volume to the most recent volume allowed by the publishers (typically 2-5 years ago). American bias, but includes titles published in the Commonwealth, including the UK.

Other libraries include:

Canada Supreme Court Reports - official bilingual law report series of the case law of the Supreme Court of Canada (Cour suprême du Canada), dating from 1876.

Early American Case Law - assorted US law report series covering the late 19th to the 20th century, including the Federal Cases and the Trinity Series.

English Reports - reproductions of cases reported in various early series of law reports (nominate reports), spanning 176 volumes up to 1867.

European Centre for Minority Issues - published reports and working papers.

International Law Association Reports - ILA conference reports, discussions at working sessions and adopted resolutions relating to the study, clarification and development of international law.

Legal Classics - historic and rare legal and jurisprudential works.

Pentagon Papers - US Department of Defense’s history of American foreign relations with Vietnam from 1945 to 1967.

Revised Statutes of Canada - compilation of federal laws passed by the Parliament of Canada since 1867.

Statutes of the Realm - collection of Acts of the Parliaments of England and Great Britain for the period 1235-1713.

US Supreme Court Library - the official US Reports (1754 onwards), slip opinions (2002 onwards), and books and periodicals relating to the US Supreme Court.

US Treaties and Agreements Library - all US treaties, whether in force, expired, or not yet officially published.

Women and the Law (Peggy) - US focused collections of texts on women's role in society and the law.

World Constitutions Illustrated - current constitutions plus scholarly works on constitutional topics.

Help and guidance
For comprehensive guidance see the HeinOnline help & training site which includes FAQs, guides and training videos.

Full-text archive of journal articles covering most subjects. Covers 1880s up to a 'moving wall' usually of between 2 and 5 years. Each journal title has its own 'moving wall'.

We subscribe to the following JSTOR packages: Arts & Sciences I-XI, Biological Sciences, Health & General Sciences and Ireland Collection.

We also subscribe to the 19th Century British Pamphlets collection.

Help and guidance
JSTOR help page for searching

Full-text of UK, US, EU and Commonwealth legal sources. Contents include:

-UK cases including The Law Reports, All England Law Reports, and English Reports
-Cases of the Irish, Northern Ireland, and Scottish Courts from 1945.
-All current Public General Acts and Statutory Instruments of England and Wales
-Halsbury's Laws of England
-Hill and Redman Law of Landlord and Tenant
-European Union cases from 1954
-European Union legislation
-Commonwealth cases and legislation, particularly from Australia, Canada, New Zealand and South Africa
-US Federal and State case law
-US Federal legislation
-Comprehensive collection of US law reviews from 1982
-UK broadsheets as well as local newspapers in the UK

Help and guidance
-For comprehensive guidance see the LexisLibrary support site which includes training videos, tips and user guides.
-A range of training videos are available on the LexisNexis UK YouTube channel.
-Complete the LexisLibrary research certificate.

Contents include:

-OGEL journal specialising in coverage of energy law topics such as regulation, treaties, cases, taxation and contracting
-Legal and regulatory database of resources from countries worldwide, including legislation, cases, arbitration awards and model documents
-News and current awareness on developments in international and regional energy policies.

Help and guidance
For basic guidance on the service, see the Help for new readers.
For specific guidance on search options, see Help with your search.

Contents include:

-TDM journal specialising in issues in international arbitration, with a special focus on investment arbitration
-Legal and regulatory database of resources from countries worldwide, including treaties, legislation, cases, arbitration awards and model documents
-News and current awareness on developments in international arbitration and related fields.

Help and guidance
For basic guidance on the service, see the Help for new readers.
For specific guidance on search options, see Help with your search.

Contents include:

- UK cases, including The Law Reports, Weekly Law Reports and English Reports
- Fully consolidated laws in force, including Acts from 1267 and Statutory Instruments from 1948.
- European Union cases from 1954
- European Union legislation
- Index to British legal journals from 1986 (with links to full-text where hosted on Westlaw UK)
- Full-text British and American legal journals (varying date coverage)
- Comprehensive collection of US law reviews from the 1980s and selected journals from common law jurisdictions, including Canada, Australia and New Zealand.
- US Federal and State case law
- US Federal legislation

Help and guidance
For basic, introductory guidance see the Westlaw getting started guide (PDF).
For more advanced guidance see the further resources on the Westlaw customer support site.
Complete the Westlaw UK certification training, an interactive walk-through of Westlaw UK, to demonstrate your skills by becoming a Certified user.