Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In addition to books and DVDs on the 3rd Floor of the Library, you may access additional language learning materials via the Self-Access Centre for Language Learning. You could also look at other materials which may aid your learning, such as newspapers and online news websites.
Self-Access Centre for Language Learning (SACLL)
The Self-Access Centre for Language Learning (SACLL), located in Edith Morley 230, is a specialist language learning facility, open to international students and the wider University community. The centre includes a wide range of materials for students learning English and foreign languages, including books and DVDs. There are also computers available for students to use, some with useful online language materials.
Video, image and sound resources
Box of Broadcasts [video & audio]
Box of Broadcasts (BoB) is a collection of TV and radio programmes from free-to-air channels. Set new recordings and playback programmes already recorded. Content back to 1990s.
Britannica ImageQuest [images]
ImageQuest is a high resolution image library of over 2.7 million images which are rights-cleared for academic use from various collections including National Geographic, Getty Images, National History Museum and more.
Access to thousands of films for the arts & humanities, including international films in the 'World Cinema' collection and language learning programmes in the 'ESL & Languages' collection.
Reading newspapers and news websites can be a good way to help you learn a language and immerse yourself in the culture and current affairs of a particular country.
The Library has online access to many English language newspapers and a few foreign language ones too. For further information and links go to our Finding newspapers page.
Image by Greenwich Photography
Teaching Practice Collection
The Teaching Practice Collection, on the 3rd Floor of the Library, includes an extensive collection of children’s literature in English, both fiction and non-fiction, which may be used by learners to improve their English language skills