The Teaching Practice Collection (TPC) at the University Library contains recent children’s fiction and non-fiction, a range of textbooks to GCSE level, music scores and multimedia items including kits, scientific models, and picture sets.
The Children’s Collection at the University's Special Collections Service holds books and journals for children published largely in the 19th and early 20th century. This is a non-loan collection, but is useful in the study of children’s literature.
UCL's Institute of Education Library has a Curriculum Resource collection that offers examples of schoolbooks and teaching materials for all levels and all school subjects. Students are able to access this collection using SCONUL access.
Reading Museum's collections tell the story of Reading and its place in the world. They have almost 500,000 accessioned objects of archaeology, art, natural history, social history and world cultures. They also offer a School Loan Box service on an annual or ad hoc basis.
The Cole Museum of Zoology contains some 3500 specimens of the Animal Kingdom with highlights including, complete skeletons of a male Indian Elephant, a False Killer Whale, a five metre Reticulated Python, and a pair of Giant Spider Crabs.
Aircraft built at Woodley are re-constructed and exhibited along with fascinating pictorial records and archives. Educational programmes for schools, linked to National Curriculum requirements, demonstrate the development of aviation techniques.
One of the most complete literary archives of favourite children's author, Roald Dahl. A visit to the museum includes time exploring galleries with 40 interactive installations and small group activities working with materials from the Roald Dahl archive.
This Museum of Art and Archaeology's collections are extraordinarily diverse, representing most of the world’s great civilisations. Highlights include, Egyptian sculpture, Minoan artefacts, Anglo-Saxon treasures and modern Chinese painting.