LibGuides: The Learning Hub: Fiction Collection

Picture books

Recommended for: 3-7 years / EYFS, Key Stage 1-2

The Learning Hub contains a comprehensive picture book collection with titles by popular authors such as Julia Donaldson, Quentin Blake, Chris Riddell, Shirley Hughes, Anthony Browne, Lauren Child, and winners of the CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal.

Our collection includes standard picture books, novelty picture books (titles with lift-the-flap or pop-up features), story picture books (longer stories with a more developed plot and more difficult vocabulary) and wordless picture books.

Picture Books Picture books and picture storybooks are primarily aimed at young children in the 3-7 age range. Stories focus on and are informed by illustrations. You will also find Wordless picture books in this section.
Pop-up Books Pop-up books contain interactive elements including 3d pages, parts which move as the book is opened and closed, and sometimes sounds.

Chapter books

Recommended for: 6 - 9 Years / Key Stage 2

Chapter books are intended for early independent readers. Typically, chapter books contain stories with short chapters and lots of illustrations.

The Learning Hub has a wide selection of Chapter Books including a wide variety of resources by contemporary authors.

Chapter Books Age 6 – 9 / KS2 Intended for independent readers, they are longer with more complex sentences and plot development. Chapters are roughly 2-4 pages long. Paragraphs are still short (2-5 sentences). If they include illustrations these are usually black and white. Often published as a series.

Children's novels

Recommended for: 8-12 years / KeyStage 2-3

Perfect for more confident readers, children's novels are often double the length of chapter books and include more complex plots, sophisticated themes and character development.

Our collection includes popular contemporary novels by David Walliams and Onjali Q Rauf; old favourites from Roald Dahl and Anne Fine, as well as winners of awards including the Carnegie Award and the Waterstones Children's Book Prize.

Children's Novels Children’s novels are aimed at 8-12 year olds. Ideal for confident readers, they contain longer chapters, complex themes and more challenging vocabulary.

Teen and Young Adult (YA) novels

Recommended for: 12+ years / Key Stage 3-4

Ideal for older readers YA (young adult) novels have sophisticated plots and themes relevant to contemporary teens.

You'll find popular titles from authors such as Suzanne Collins, Anthony Horowitz, Malorie Blackman, Jamila Gavin and Hilary Freeman alongside a small selection of gritty, quick reads from the 'Cutting Edge' series and dyslexia friendly titles.

The Learning Hub's collection also includes winners of awards such as the Carnegie Award and the YA Book Prize.

YA Novels YA fiction is intended for readers age 13+ It features teenage protagonists, sophisticated plots and mature themes.

Classic Novels

The Learning Hub has a small collection of classic literature containing titles by authors such as Jane Austen, Charles Dickens and Miguel de Cervantes, which are often taught in schools at KS3 and KS4.

This collection includes 'Fast Track Classics', 'Essential Classics' and 'Real Reads' which provide retellings of classic literature suitable for younger readers (KS2).

Fiction Classic titles, modern British and World fiction

Traditional tales

The Learning Hub has a wide range of traditional fairy tales, fables and legends, suitable for KS1 and KS2 as well a selection of tales, legends, fables and retellings of stories from a variety of countries around the world.