LibGuides: Languages and Cultures: Key resources

Key databases for finding journal articles

JSTOR [full-text & images] This link opens in a new window
Archive of journal articles from 1880 up until a "moving wall" of between 2 and 5 years. It covers most subjects, including language, literature, history, social sciences and general sciences subjects.
Full-text archive of more than 2,600 academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Covers from 1880s (or volume 1) up to a 'moving wall' end date, usually of between 2 and 5 years ago. Each journal title has its own 'moving wall' date.

We subscribe to all journal collections, as well as Global Plants and Primary Sources (covering 19th Century British Pamphlets ; Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa; World Heritage Sites: Africa.

Some ebooks are also available - individual titles are listed on Enterprise and a link to freely available JSTOR ebooks is below.

Help and guidance
JSTOR help page for searching
LLBA (Linguisitics and Language Behavior Abstracts) This link opens in a new window
References to publications covering linguistics and language.
Gives references for journal articles, monographs, recent books, technical reports, occasional papers, dissertations, and book reviews.

Help and guidance
For help within the platform, click on the question mark icon in the bottom right-hand corner.
ProQuest LibGuide: LLBA
MLA (Modern Language Association International Bibliography) This link opens in a new window
Gives references and abstracts to journal articles, monographs, working papers, bibliographies, etc., for literature, language, linguistics and folklore worldwide.
MLA (Modern Language Association International Bibliography) covers literature, language, linguistics and folklore worldwide.

Gives references to journal articles, monographs, working papers, conference proceedings, indexes and bibliographies, etc.

Covers 1884-. Hosted on the EBSCO platform.

Help and guidance
EBSCOhost user guide
Project MUSE [full-text] This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to over 500 journal titles in the arts, humanities and social sciences; complements JSTOR by providing recent issues of many titles in that archive.
View a list of titles available on Project Muse (you will need to be on-campus or logged in via the off-campus link above to view this list).

Complements JSTOR by providing recent issues of many titles in that archive.

Help and guidance
Project MUSE video tutorials and search guides

Other useful resources

Academic Video Online on Alexander Street [video] This link opens in a new window
Video material including documentaries, interviews, performances, news programmes and newsreels covering a variety of events and themes.
We also have access to Academic Video Online on ProQuest

Academic Video Online is a comprehensive source of video material including 70,000 titles with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programmes, newsreels and more. Use the Alexander Street link for the best browsing experience.

Academic Video Online comprises some of the following channels:

-60 Minutes: 1997-2014
-American History
-Black Studies
-LGBT Studies
-The March of Time
-World History
-World Newsreels Online 1929-1966

Some of subjects covered are:

-Art & Architecture
-Criminal Justice & Public Safety
-Drama
-Education
-Engineering
-Environmental Studies
-History
-Literature
-Politics & Current Affairs
-Psychology
-Science
-Theatre

Help and guidance
Alexander Street Press resources help

How you may use the content
Permitted

-lecture presentations
-Blackboard - embed the video in your module or link to it
-student work

Tip! You may make clips and playlists with the videos

Not permitted

-publicly available websites
-public display in University
-any alteration, adaption or modification the video
Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Part of Web of Science, this citation index gives references to journal articles, letters, editorials, notes, meeting abstracts, discussions, music scores, poems, plus reviews of literature, performances and recordings in arts and humanities subjects.
Gives references to journal articles, letters, editorials, notes, meeting abstracts, discussions, music scores, poems, plus reviews of literature, performances and recordings. Covers 1970-

Help and guidance
Web of Science Training Portal
Cambridge Companions [full-text] This link opens in a new window
E-book series, providing introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, subjects and periods
Over 2,800 downloadable essays taken from the Cambridge Companions series.
Provides cross-searchable introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics and periods in the subject areas of literature, philosophy, classics, religion and cultural studies.

Most titles are listed on the Library catalogue.
Cambridge Histories [full-text] This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 300 volumes published in the Cambridge Histories series since 1960, including Cambridge Histories of French, German and Italian Literature
Provides full-text access to over 300 volumes published in the Cambridge Histories series since 1960. Subjects range across the humanities and include:
- American history
- British history
- Economic history
- General history
- History of science
- Language and literature
- Literary studies
- Philosophy
- Political and social theory
- Regional history
- Theatre studies and performing arts
- Warfare

All titles are listed on the Library catalogue.
Electronic Enlightenment [full-text] This link opens in a new window
Online collection of correspondence from across Europe during the early modern period
Search or browse over 60,000 letters and documents, from the early 17th to the mid-19th century, in 11 languages including English, French, German and Italian.

Help and guidance
Help using Electronic Enlightenment
Empire Online [full-text] This link opens in a new window
Empire Online provides access to manuscripts, printed, and visual primary and secondary source material for the study of Empire and colonialisation worldwide, spanning the last 500 years.
Document types include letters, journals, slave papers, and official Government papers. Also included are secondary resources, such as scholarly essays, maps, and an interactive chronology.

Help and guidance
Once connected, click on 'Help' for page-by-page guidance and FAQs.
Gale Research Complete [full-text] This link opens in a new window
Use this resource to search across Gale's research content, including resources on literature, newspapers, and ebooks - filter results to your chosen Country or Language.
The following databases are included in the search facility:

-Archives Unbound
-Gale Business Insights
-Gale eBooks
-Gale Literature Criticism
-Gale Literature Resource Center
-Gale Literature: Contemporary Authors
-Gale Literature: Dictionary of Literary Biography
-Gale Literature: LitFinder
-Gale Literature: Scribner Writer Series
-Gale Literature: Something About the Author
-Gale Literature: Twayne's Author Series
-Gale Academic OneFile
-Gale General OneFile
-Gale OneFile: News
JSTOR Primary Sources [full-text & images] This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary primary source collections featuring monographs, pamphlets, manuscripts, letters, oral histories, government documents, images, 3D models, spatial data, type specimens, drawings, paintings, and more.

There are three discrete collections in JSTOR Primary Sources:
19th Century British Pamphlets
Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa
World Heritage Sites: Africa.

Please note, you do not have to create a personal account to use JSTOR.

Please read the JSTOR terms and conditions of use before accessing JSTOR.

Help and guidance
JSTOR help page for searching
Screen Studies Collection [partial full-text] This link opens in a new window
Search simultaneously or separately across three separate film databases. FIAF gives references to journal articles and includes access to many of the articles in full-text. FII and AFI Catalogue are extensive filmographies, listing credits and associated reviews.
Search simultaneously across the following databases:

-FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database - Gives references to journal articles and access to the full-text of several journals. Also includes information about holdings of silent films in international film archives, and a directory of film and tv collections held by institutions worldwide.

-Film Index International (FII) – International index of films from the first silent movies to the latest blockbusters. Gives biographical information for almost 57,000 personalities. Also includes coverage of international film awards and prizes as well as searchable plot summaries and full cast and crew lists. References to published reviews and articles about individual films are also included within the records.

-AFI Catalog - The American Film Institute's catalogue is a comprehensive filmography of American films from 1893 to 1974, with records for selected major films from 1975-2008. New records are added each year by the AFI’s editorial team. Useful for identifying sources and reviews.

Help and guidance
For help within the platform, click on the question mark icon in the bottom right-hand corner.
Guide to using FIAF
Guide to using Film Index International
Guide to using the American Film Institute Catalogue
IBSS (International Bibliography of the Social Sciences) This link opens in a new window
Gives references to journal articles, books, reviews and selected chapters in the social sciences, including anthropology, economics, political science and sociology. Provides good coverage of international material.
Also covers related subjects, such as: agriculture, social policy, archaeology, business studies, criminology, education, environmental issues, history, law, and social work.

Gives references to journal articles, books, reviews and selected chapters. Good coverage of international material.

Help and guidance
For help within the platform, click on the question mark icon in the bottom right-hand corner.
ProQuest LibGuide: IBSS
Library Hub Discover (Jisc) This link opens in a new window
Merged online catalogues of many major UK and Irish academic, National libraries and specialist libraries.
Library Hub Discover lists monographs and journal titles. It also includes conference proceedings, audio-visual, multimedia items and other formats listed on library catalogues.

Help and guidance
Library Hub Discover site support
Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Searchable bibliographies covering major areas of scholarship within various disciplines
Bibliographies currently subscribed to are:

-Anthropology
-Atlantic history
-Classics
-Medieval studies
-Philosophy
-Renaissance and Reformation
-Victorian literature

Individual articles are listed on the Library catalogue.

Help and guidance
Oxford Bibliographies help
Oxford Handbooks Online [full-text] This link opens in a new window
Provides access to review essays covering key issues and exploring major debates across several subject areas, including history, linguistics, literature and political science
The University has purchased some titles in the following subjects:

-Archaeology
-Business & management
-Classical studies
-Criminology & criminal justice
-Economics & finance
-History
-Law
-Linguistics
-Literature
-Philosophy
-Political science
-Psychology

Individual titles are listed on the Library catalogue.

Help and guidance
Oxford Academic guides
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Essentially a vast Library catalogue. Gives references to books, theses, and other published materials in all subjects.
Covers ca.1000 BC to the present.

Oxford Dictionaries

Fully searchable, comprehensive and easy to use bilingual dictionaries for French, German, Italian and Spanish.

There are also language learning and usage tools and resources, such as downloadable letters, grammar notes, verb tables and cultural information to provide practical help with writing.

Oxford Dictionaries [full-text] This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable, comprehensive and easy to use bilingual dictionaries. Our subscription covers French, German, Italian and Spanish.
There are also language learning and usage tools and resources, such as downloadable letters, grammar notes, verb tables and cultural information to provide practical help with writing.

Help and guidance
Guide to the dictionary

Newspapers

Factiva This link opens in a new window
To see a list of non-English newspapers, select "All Sources" then "by Language" from the Source Category pick list. Alternatively you can search for articles and choose the required Language from the filters.
Factiva combines more than 30,000 sources to give students, researchers, professors, and librarians access to premium content from 200 countries in 28 languages.

The broad range of content provides both local insight and global perspective on business issues and current events – especially with regard to research requiring current information on companies, industries, and financial markets.

Help and guidance
Dow Jones Factiva LibGuide
Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new window
Choose the 'Publication Search' option from the landing page. You can either search for a specific title, or scroll down to choose your target language from the 'Language of publication' dropdown. Click 'Search' to see a list of titles in that language, and browse or search articles in the selected publication.
Includes the following key titles:

- Daily Mail (1996 onwards)
- The Financial Times (1999 onwards)
- The Guardian (1990 onwards)
- The Independent (2004 onwards)
- The New York Times (1985 onwards)

Help and guidance
Once logged in to the site click on 'Help' at the bottom of the page for comprehensive guidance.
ProQuest News & Newspapers [full-text] This link opens in a new window
Choose 'Advanced Search' from above the search box. Type your search keywords into the search boxes at the top of the advanced search page, and scroll down to select your target language(s) from the checkboxes under 'Language'. Click Search. NB. Your results will include some English summaries so you can filter again on the left to display only target language articles!
The following collections can be searched together or separately:

Canadian Newsstream - over 190 Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading publishers, some dating back to the late 1970s

International Newsstream - covers over 660 of the world's top newspapers including the following key titles:

The Financial Times (1996 onwards)
The Guardian (1996 onwards)
The New York Times (1980 onwards)
The Observer (1995 onwards)
The Telegraph (2006 onwards)
Wall Street Journal (1984 onwards)

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Guardian and The Observer - The complete digital edition of The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003) containing full facsimile images of specific articles or complete pages.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post - The complete digital edition of The Washington Post (1877-2004) containing full facsimile images of specific articles or complete pages.

US Newsstream - includes the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format.

Each issue of each newspaper is indexed thoroughly, so researchers have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the papers. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc.

Help and guidance
For help within the platform, click on the question mark icon in the bottom right-hand corner.

Videos: doing your literature search

This playlist of two videos shows you how to prepare for and perform a literature search. The first video introduces literature searches and their role. The second video covers using the search operators AND and OR to create a search statement, and explains the role of wildcards and truncation in constructing a comprehensive search. This information is also available in written guides - see the links below.

Related guides

Literature searching
A guide to finding articles, books and other materials on your subject. Includes tips on constructing a comprehensive search using search operators (AND/OR), truncation and wildcards.
Literature reviews guide
Advice in this guide will help you navigate both the research process and the production of the final literature review.

Film & TV

Box of Broadcasts [video & audio] This link opens in a new window
Box of Broadcasts (BoB) is a collection of TV and radio programmes from free-to-air channels. Set new recordings and playback programmes already recorded. Content back to 1990s.
Record and view TV and radio programmes from over 75 free-to-airchannels and access an archive of over 2 million programmes from the 1990s to the present day. Includes content from:
- BBC TV and radio
- ITV
- Channel 4
- Film4
- Sky Arts
-1 0 foreign language channels (Italian, French and German)
- BBC Shakespeare Archive content dating back to the 1950s

Use tools within BoB to create innovative and engaging learning materials to support teaching and learning;
- Create playlists, clips and clip compilations
- Embed content in BlackBoard and use in lectures
- Find programmes and clips on your topic by searching across programme transcripts and subtitles

How you may use the content

Permitted:
- lecture presentations
- Blackboard
- Create clips
- Embed in student coursework - provided it is within BlackBoard

Tip! Acknowledge the source and title of the programme and the ERA licensing scheme - see text under each video on BoB.

Not permitted:
- using BoB from outside the UK
- downloading or copying the videos - they are for streaming only
- publicly available websites
- public display in University
- any alteration, adaption or modification of the video or audio (except creating clips)
- promotional materials

Help and guidance
BoB video tutorials - including videos on using embed codes and using BoB videos in PowerPoint

Have a look at the BoB Frequently Asked Questions

Recommended browsers for BoB are Internet Explorer 11, Edge 12, Mozilla Firefox 44, Safari 8, Google Chrome 48 - or later versions of any of these browsers.

How to embed BoB videos in BlackBoard [PDF]

Tip! Each clip has a citation which you can copy.
Kanopy [video] This link opens in a new window
Access to thousands of films for the arts & humanities.
Use the Browse feature to search by subject or genre, or the search bar at the top of the page to look for a film by title.

Help and guidance
Help using the Kanopy site

How you may use the content
You may only use the content for educational purposes.

Permitted
-lecture presentations
-creating clips and playlists
-embedding clips or films in BlackBoard
-embedding in student coursework

Not permitted
-downloading or copying the videos - they are for streaming only
-public display in the University
-any alteration, adaption or modification of the video or audio (except creating clips)

Languages and Cultures: Key resources

Intro