It's very likely that you'll need to reference non-English language material, and translations in your work.
For help with citing specific types of publication contact your subject librarian.
For advice on using references in your work, and how to use them to support your arguments, consult the guidance on the Study Advice website or make an appointment with them.
When you do your dissertation you could consider using EndNote to manage your references. This bibliographic management package can be used to store references, and then insert the citation in your Word document, automatically building the bibliography for you in the correct style.
Find out more on our EndNote webpages:
For information on other options for electronic management of your references see our guide to Managing references:
The referencing policy in DLC is that students can choose between MHRA (footnotes) or Cite them Right Harvard (author-date) referencing. If you are a Joint Honours student and wish to use another system please obtain the permission of your module convenor in advance.
You must not combine referencing styles within the same assignment. Choose one referencing style, and use this throughout your assignment consistently.
Find guidance on MHRA style (footnotes) and Harvard style (author-date) in the boxes and links below;
Details of the books, articles, websites and other formats of information you want to reference are entered using a footnote system. A note system has three elements;
* the only exception to this is when you are referring frequently to a literary work like a novel, play or poem - see the box below on Frequent references to literary works eg novels, plays, poems etc
Whenever you want to refer to an idea or quote something, insert a superscript number at the end of your sentence, after the full stop.1 Start at 1 then number each new reference consecutively - use a new number each time you reference something (even if you've previously referenced the same source.)
In Word, you can do this in the References ribbon >> Insert Footnote, and Word will create a corresponding numbered note either in the footer of the page.
In the corresponding footnote, you write the full reference for the item you want to refer to, with the specific page number, or page range, at the end.
1 John C. Chasteen, Born in Blood and Fire: A Concise History of Latin America (W.W. Norton, 2011), p. 42.
If you refer to the same source later in your writing, you should use an abbreviated version of the citation in your footnote or endnote - the short version usually includes only the author's surname, the first few words of the title and a page number or page range;
2 Chasteen, Born in Blood , pp. 142–143.
At the end of your work, insert a Bibliography listing all your sources in alphabetical order of the author / creator's surname. In the Bibliography, reverse the order of the first author's name so that it appear Surname, Firstname - if there is more than one author, keep the subsequent authors' names in their usual order.
Bibliography
Bethell, Leslie, (ed.) The Cambridge History of Latin America: Volume 4 c. 1870 to 1830 (Cambridge University Press, 1986)
Chasteen, John C., Born in Blood and Fire: A Concise History of Latin America (W.W. Norton, 2011)
García Márquez, Gabriel, One Hundred Years of Solitude (Jonathan Cape, 1991)
—— Collected Stories (Harper & Row, 1984)
Procher, Vivien, Nolan Ritter, and Colin Vance, 'Housework Allocation in Germany: The Role of Income and Gender Identity', Social Science Quarterly, 99.1 (2018), pp. 43–61 (p. 55), doi:10.1111/ssqu.12390
This is written as a brief introductory guide - for full rules and guidance of the MHRA referencing style, please see chapters 7 and 8 of the
MHRA style guide Fourth Edition, below;
MHRA Style Guide by Footnote - first time
1 Author Firstname Author Surname, Title of Book (Publisher Name, Year), p. page number.
Footnote - subsequent short version
2 Author Surname, Shortened Title, p. page number.
Bibliography
Author Surname, Author Firstname, Title of Book, (Publisher Name, Year)
Example:
Footnote - first time
1 John C. Chasteen, Born in Blood and Fire: A Concise History of Latin America (W.W. Norton, 2011), p. 42.
Footnote - subsequent short version
2 Chasteen, Born in Blood, pp. 42–43.
Bibliography
Chasteen, John C., Born in Blood and Fire: A Concise History of Latin America (W.W. Norton, 2011)
Footnote - first time
1 Title of Book, ed. by Editor Firstname Editor Lastname (Publisher Name, Year), p. page.
Footnote - subsequent short version
2 Shortened Title, p. page.
Bibliography
Editor Surname, Editor Firstname, (ed.) Title of Book (Publisher Name, Year)
Example:
Footnote - first time
1 The Cambridge History of Latin America: Volume 4 c. 1870 to 1830, ed. by Leslie Bethell (Cambridge University Press, 1986), p. 63.
Footnote - subsequent short version
2 Cambridge History of Latin America, ed. by Bethell, pp. 89–90.
Bibliography
Bethell, Leslie, (ed.) The Cambridge History of Latin America: Volume 4 c. 1870 to 1830 (Cambridge University Press, 1986)
The title of the chapter goes in single quotation marks in plain text - follow this with a comma and the word 'in' before the book title in italics. Include the start and end page numbers for the chapter after the publisher and year, then include your specific page number for this reference in brackets after that.
Footnote - first time
1 Chapter Author Firstname Chapter Author Surname, 'Title of Chapter', in Title of Book, ed. by Editor Firstname Editor Surname (Publisher Name, Year), pp. page number – page number (p. page number), doi:doi number
Footnote - subsequent short version
2 Chapter Author Surname, 'Shortened Title', p. page.
Bibliography
Chapter Author Surname, Chapter Author Firstname, 'Title of Chapter', in Title of Book, ed. by Editor Firstname Editor Surname (Publisher Name, Year), pp. page number – page number, doi:doi number
Example:
Footnote - first time
1 Tyler Stovall, 'Race and the Making of the Nation: Blacks in Modern France', in Disasporic Africa: A Reader, ed. by Michael A. Gomez (New York University Press, 2006), pp. 342–73 (pp. 372-73), 10.18574/nyu/9780814733226.003.0013.
Footnote - subsequent short version
2 Stovall, 'Race and the Making', p. 356.
Bibliography
Stovall, Tyler, 'Race and the Making of the Nation: Blacks in Modern France', in Disasporic Africa: A Reader, ed. by Michael A. Gomez (New York University Press, 2006), pp. 342–73, doi:10.18574/nyu/9780814733226.003.0013
The title of the article is given in single quotation marks before the Journal title. Instead of a publisher and city of publication, (as for books,) the Volume and Part number of the journal are given with a DOI wherever one is available.
Footnote - first time
1 Author Firstname Author Surname, 'Title of Article', Title of Journal, volume number.part number (Year), pp. page number–page number (p. page number), doi:doi number.
In Footnote - subsequent short version
2 Author Surname, 'Shortened Title of Article', p. page number.
In Bibliography
Author Surname, Author Firstname, 'Title of Article', Title of Journal, volume number.part number (Year), pp. page number–page number, doi:doi number
Example:
Footnote - first time
1 Vivien Procher, Nolan Ritter, and Colin Vance, 'Housework Allocation in Germany: The Role of Income and Gender Identity', Social Science Quarterly, 99.1 (2018), pp. 43–61 (p. 55), doi:10.1111/ssqu.12390.
Footnote - subsequent short version
2 Procher, Ritter, and Vance, 'Housework Allocation in Germany', pp. 58–9.
Bibliography
Procher, Vivien, Nolan Ritter, and Colin Vance, 'Housework Allocation in Germany: The Role of Income and Gender Identity', Social Science Quarterly, 99.1 (2018), pp. 43–61 (p. 55), doi:10.1111/ssqu.12390
Separate authors' / editors' names with the word 'and' - only invert the first name listed in the Bibliography entry. If they are editors, use the abbreviation 'eds' in brackets after their names eg. (eds),
Footnote - first time
1 Author Firstname Author Surname, and Author Firstname Author Surname, Title of Book (Publisher Name, Year), p. page number.
Footnote - subsequent short version
2 Author Surname and Author Surname, Shortened Title, p. page number.
Bibliography
Author Surname, Author Firstname, and Author Firstname Author Surname, Title of Book (Publisher Name, Year)
Example:
Footnote - first time
1 Martin Munro, and Celia Britton, American Creoles: The Francophone Caribbean and the American South (Liverpool University Press, (2012), p. 42.
Footnote - subsequent short version
2 Munro and Britton, American Creoles, p. 142–143.
Bibliography
Munro, Martin, and Celia Britton, American Creoles: The Francophone Caribbean and the American South (Liverpool University Press, (2012)
Separate authors' / editors' names with a comma then the word 'and' - only invert the first name listed in the Bibliography entry. If they are editors, in the bibliography after listing their names use the abbreviation 'eds' in brackets eg. (eds),
Footnote - first time
1 Title of Book, ed. by Editor Firstname Editor Surname, Editor Firstname Editor Surname and Editor Firstname Editor Surname (Publisher Name, Year), p. page.
Footnote - subsequent short version
2 Shortened Title, ed. by Editor Surname, Editor Surname, and Editor Surname, p. page.
Bibliography
Editor Surname, Editor Firstname, Editor Firstname Editor Surname, and Editor Firstname Editor Surname (eds), Title of Book, (Publisher Name, Year)
Example:
Footnote - first time
1 The European Roots of the Lex Sportiva: How Europe Rules Global Sport, ed. by Antoine Duval, Alexander Krüger, and Johan Lindholm, (Hart Publishing, 2024), p. 317.
Footnote - subsequent short version
2 The European Roots, ed. by Duval, Krüger, and Lindholm , pp. 310–11.
Bibliography
Duval, Antoine, Alexander Krüger, and Johan Lindholm (eds), The European Roots of the Lex Sportiva: How Europe Rules Global Sport, (Hart Publishing, 2024)
List only the first author's name, followed by 'and others'. If they are editors, in the bibliography after listing their names use the abbreviation 'eds' in brackets eg. (eds).
Footnote - first time
1 Title of Book, ed. by Editor Firstname Editor Surname and others (Publisher Name, Year), p. page.
Footnote - subsequent short version
2 Shortened Title, ed. by Editor Surname and others, p. page.
Bibliography
Editor Surname, Editor Firstname, and others (eds), Title of Book (Publisher Name, Year)
Example:
Footnote - first time
1 Decolonizing Colonial Heritage : New Agendas, Actors and Practices in and Beyond Europe, ed. by Britta Timm Knudsen and others (Routledge, 2022), p. 179.
Footnote - subsequent short version
2 Decolonizing Colonial Heritage, ed. by Knusden and others, p. 156–157.
Bibliography
Knusden, Britta Timm, and others (eds), Decolonizing Colonial Heritage : New Agendas, Actors and Practices in and Beyond Europe (Routledge, 2022)
Put the URL of the website in angle brackets eg. <URL>, and include both the date the website was published and the date you accessed it.
Websites - named author
Footnote
Author Firstname Author Surname, ‘Title of page or article’, Title of internet site, DD Month Year site was published <URL> [accessed DD Month YYYY].
Footnote - subsequent short version
Author Surname, ‘Title'.
Bibliography
Author Surname, Author Firstname, ‘Title of page or article’, Title of internet site, DD Month Year site was published <URL> [accessed DD Month YYYY]
Example
Footnote
Sue Malvern, ‘Art’, International Encyclopedia of the First World War, 10 November 2016 <https://encyclopedia.1914-1918-online.net/article/art/> [accessed 11 July 2024].
Footnote - subsequent short version
Malvern, ‘Art'.
Bibliography
Malvern, Sue, ‘Art’, International Encyclopedia of the First World War, 10 November 2016 <https://encyclopedia.1914-1918-online.net/article/art/> [accessed 11 July 2024].
Websites - no named author
Footnote / Endnote - first time
1 ‘Title of page or article’, Title of internet site, DD Month Year site was published <URL> [accessed DD Month YYYY].
In Footnote / Endnote - subsequent short version
2 'Title'.
In Bibliography
‘Title of page or article’, Title of internet site, DD Month Year site was published <URL> [accessed DD Month YYYY]
Example:
Footnote
‘Chaos and Classicism: Art in France, Italy, and Germany, 1918-1936’, Guggenheim, 9 January 2011 <https://www.guggenheim.org/exhibition/chaos-and-classicism-art-in-france-italy-and-germany-1918-1936> [accessed 5 September 2024].
Footnote - subsequent short version
‘Chaos and Classicism'.
Bibliography
‘Chaos and Classicism: Art in France, Italy, and Germany, 1918-1936’, Guggenheim, 9 January 2011 <https://www.guggenheim.org/exhibition/chaos-and-classicism-art-in-france-italy-and-germany-1918-1936> [accessed 5 September 2024].
For examples and guidance on how to format footnote and bibliography references for all other formats - videos, films, podcasts, social media posts, art installations and literally anything you can think of - take a look at the Cite them right guidance;
To use Harvard referencing, every time you write about an idea you should put brief author and date citation in your text in parentheses at the end of your sentence (Guest, 2024). This shows your reader where you found out about the idea, and that it isn't your own. At the end of your work, include a Reference List - this is one list of all the sources you have cited in your work, with full details usually including author, date, title, and publication information, eg;
Depending on what you are referencing, your reference list entry will include different pieces of information in a specific order. Use the Cite Them Right guidance on how to format Harvard style in-text citations and book, journal, book chapter and website references for your bibliography.
Note that because Harvard is a 'style' rather than a system or set of rules, the preferred punctuation and formatting of the text may differ between different publications or websites.
If you can't find the answer in either of the guides below, please speak to your Academic Liaison Librarian.
This online guide has examples of how to reference books, articles, conferences, archives, all different types of art works, performances and exhibitions, digital and social media - literally anything you can think of!
This online guide has examples of how to reference books, articles, conferences, archives, all different types of art works, performances and exhibitions, digital and social media - literally anything you can think of!
