Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General German studies related sites
German Historical Institute (Washington DC)
An internationally recognised centre for advanced study, with research ranging well beyond German history and including American history as well as comparative transnational history. Free online access to many of its publications.
German History in Documents and Images
German History in Documents and Images (GHDI) is a comprehensive collection of primary source materials documenting Germany's political, social, and cultural history from 1500 to the present. It comprises original German texts, all of which are accompanied by new English translations, and a wide range of visual imagery.
H-German Discussion network
A daily English-language discussion forum focused on scholarly topics in German history and aimed at professional historians of Germany around the world.
Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin -Zeitungsinformationssystem (ZEFYS)
The Berlin State Library provides full-text access to a number of historic German newspaper archives. Of particular note is the on-going DDR-Presse project which will provide full-text access to three of the most important newspapers from the former GDR. To access the full-text from DDR-Presse you will need to register for free via the website xlogon.net.
Library resources in Germany and Austria
Useful if you are studying abroad and need to find books in a library near you!
Die Deutsche Bibliothek
Website of the national library of Germany, based in Frankfurt-am-Main, Leipzig and Berlin – has an online catalogue and descriptions of special collections.
Die Österreichische Bibliothekenverbund
Site of an association of Austrian academic libraries - has links to the Austrian National Library, Vienna University Library, and lists of academic libraries in local areas in Austria. It also provides union catalogues of books and periodicals.
German studies library group
Includes many links to libraries, bibliographies and book trade and related Web pages
Karlsruhe Virtueller Katalog (KVK)
Provides a unified search to library co-operatives in Germany, Austria and Switzerland, national libraries and union catalogues worldwide. You can limit the search to a particular country or region.
Organisations and institutions
Official records (full text) of meetings and debates from session 8 (1977) up to the current date