Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General Italian studies-related sites
"Colosseum in Rome, Italy - April 2007" by Diliff / CC BY-SA 3.0
ReadingItaly - Italian Studies Postgraduate Forum
A forum aimed particularly at Italian studies postgraduates, led by University of Reading research students, it gathers contributions from people working in the field of Italian studies, covering various aspects of Italian culture (literature, history, cinema, art, etc
An online gateway providing access to digital resources on all aspects of Italian culture and literature, which is sponsored by the Ministero per i Beni e le Attività Culturali.
H-Italy discussion network
H-Italy is an online resource focusing on scholarly topics in Italian history and culture. The website is concerned with the period ranging from the Middle Ages to the present and it is aimed at scholars and graduate students in Italian studies.
Useful list of digitised collections of historical and archival materials, curated by the US-based Society for Italian Historical Studies.
Biblioteca digitale della letteratura italiana
This website gives access to the full-text of a number of works in Italian literature, taken from the publisher Einaudi's 10 Box CD-ROM on Italian literature.
A project by Columbia University. Online editions of Dante's works, with digitised images of early printed editions as well as scholarly commentary and context.
The datasets in this collection are from The Italian Academies 1525-1700 project to catalogue books deposited at the British Library and published by Italian Academies in the cities of Bologna, Naples, Padua, Siena, Venice, Verona, Mantua, Ferrara, Rome, Sicily and cities of southern Italy.
Italian women writers
The Italian Women Writers project (IWW) preserves and provides access to an extensive corpus of literature written by Italian women authors. It brings together information on and texts by both famous and less well-known Italian women writers from the late 12th century to writers born in 1945. The range of texts includes: autobiographies; children's literature; diaries; histories and chronicles; interviews; letters; novels; poems; reviews; and travel literature.
Archivio del Cinema Italiano
The Italian Cinema Database contains the synopses of all the feature films and documentaries produced and distributed in Italy since 1930.
Library resources in Italy
Useful if you are studying abroad and need to find books in an Italian library near you!
Organisations and institutions
Society for Italian Studies
A UK academic society, which produces a yearly journal. The website includes news and information items as well as links to various resources.
The Association for the study of modern Italy
Aims to bring together scholars and organisations with interest in Italy from the 18th century to date, from whatever discipline. The Association publishes journal "Modern Italy
Italian Cultural Institute in London
"The official Italian government agency for the promotion of cultural exchanges between Great Britain and Italy". Organises language courses and various cultural events.