Skip to Main Content

Managing references: EndNote

A guide to some of the systems you can use to help with referencing

There are three versions of EndNote:

  • Desktop EndNote - a software programme which can be used via the Apps Anywhere service or requested for installation on personal computers via the DTS Self-Service Portal.
  • EndNote Online Classic - a web-based product for storing references and using them in Word.
  • EndNote Web - an enhanced online version available when an EndNote 21 (or later) Desktop library is synchronised with EndNote online.

See Which version should I use? for more detail about the differences between the two versions.

The Library supports the use of all versions of EndNote although we recommend using Desktop EndNote. For more support resources see our EndNote guide:

First steps to using Desktop EndNote

  1. Use EndNote via the Apps Anywhere service or request it for installation on personal computers via the DTS Self-Service Portal.
  2. Create a library (file).
  3. Populate your library by: exporting from compatible databases; using the online search within EndNote; typing in references; or importing references from other databases or from other reference management software.
  4. Use the 'Find full text' feature to add PDFs to your references, or manually attach downloaded articles.
  5. Use the EndNote toolbar in Word to insert and format citations.

Desktop EndNote introductory videos

Although this video is for EndNote 2025, most of the features are also available in versions 20 and 21.

Although this video is for EndNote 2025, most of the features are also available in versions 20 and 21.

Video guides to using Desktop EndNote

We have produced a series of five introductory videos which are in the YouTube playlist below.

  • Video 1: Getting started - covers downloading and installing the software, creating a library and synchronising with EndNote Online to create a secure backup.

  • Video 2: Getting references into EndNote - covers downloading from Summon, Web of Science and PubMed and typing in references for books and webpages.

  • Video 3: Organising and editing references - covers navigating and managing your library, using groups to organise references, editing references and attaching PDFs.

  • Video 4: Inserting citations and references in Word - covers using the Word plugin in insert citations and create a reference list, changing the style and creating a plain text copy for submission.

  • The final video in the playlist covers using EndNote for a systematic review.

If you are unable to view these videos on YouTube they are also available on YuJa (University username and password required):

Help using Desktop EndNote

We have created step-by-step guides for the most commonly used features of Desktop EndNote. These guides are worded for Windows PC users, although many of the instructions will be the same for the Mac version of the software. All guides are in PDF format and apply to versions 20, 21 and 2025.

Getting started guide
Guides for more advanced use of EndNote

We offer Desktop EndNote workshops for Researchers as part of the RRDP (Reading Researcher Development Programme). Book a place via RISIS.

Undergraduate and Masters students will have embedded training as part of your course if appropriate. Alternatively teach yourself using the step-by-step guides or videos, or contact your Academic Liaison Librarian for an individual tutorial.

Videos
Websites

Your Academic Liaison Librarian can offer individual help on using EndNote. 

Your Academic Liaison Librarian can also offer individual help on using EndNote. Just email them with a specific question or make an appointment for an individual tutorial or for more in depth support.

For technical issues contact Clarivate Analytics directly:

First steps to using EndNote online

  1. Register for an EndNote online account.
  2. Add references to your account (manually; direct export from a database; via the Online search option; or by importing references downloaded from a database).
  3. Install the 'Cite While You Write' plugin for Word from EndNote Online via 'Downloads'
  4. You are now ready to add references to Word documents.

Further help using EndNote Online