It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Mathematics and statistics: E-resources
A guide to finding information in mathematics and statistics. Includes links to key resources and sources of help.
References in the Biomedical Sciences, including medical statistics.
We also have access to PubMed on Web of Science from 1950 to the present day.
It gives references to journal articles in the biomedical sciences including: biotechnology and bioengineering; clinical medicine; drugs and toxicology; forensic medicine; health affairs; non-clinical aspects of health care; psychiatry. Covers 1950 to the present day.
Help and guidance Help using PubMed
To save searches and set up alerts, you will need to use a third-party sign-in option, such as Facebook or Google. It is not possible to use your University login credentials for this purpose.
Indexes articles from over 230 scholarly journals in mathematics and statistics.
ProQuest Central gives full-text access to thousands of journals covering more than 160 subject areas.
It also provides access to: hundreds of full text U.S., Canadian and international newspapers including The Wall Street Journal: more than 50,000 full text dissertations; and thousands of market reports across 43 industries in 40 countries, spanning the UK, Western Europe, Eastern Europe, Asia Pacific, North America, and Latin America.
Search all the content simultaneously or click on 'Change databases' at the top of the screen to select specific ones.
Gives references to journal articles, books, conference proceedings and patents in all subjects. Also offers extensive tools to analyse results, and measure impact for articles, journals and authors.
Scopus gives references to peer-reviewed literature in all subject areas. It includes journal articles (including 'in press' items), books, conference proceedings and patents.
It is possible to search for topics, authors (including by ORCID ID), author affiliation and funders.
Extensive analytical tools also allow you to:
-analyse your search results by year, source, author, affiliation, country or territory, document type and subject area
-compare journal impact to help you decide where to publish
-see the citation impact and scholarly community engagement for an article
-analyse the citation trend for any given article, set of results or for a list of author documents
-view an author profile to analyse and track an individual's citation history
Provides references to journal articles and other publications in all subject areas. Includes the Science Citation Indexes.
All subjects. Allows simultaneous searching of:
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index
- Book Citation Index
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index
- Current Chemical Reactions
- Emerging Sources Citation Index
- Index Chemicus
- Science Citation Index
- Social Sciences Citation Index
A library catalogue that shows holdings of libraries across the UK and the world! May be particularly useful when you are researching an independent project / dissertation when you need to find books on a specific topic which the Library doesn't own
If you are on campus you will be able to access most e-journals and e-books, and some databases, without entering a username and password because your IP address identifies you as being at the University of Reading.
For any that require a login, see the Off-campus tab.
When you are off-campus you will need to login to identify yourself as a member of the University of Reading to gain access to our protected databases, e-books and e-journals.
Your login details
You login in the same way as for Blackboard - via Microsoft. Just enter your University username followed by @student.reading.ac.uk (e.g. email@example.com) and your password. If this is the first time you have logged in via this method when off-campus you will be asked to complete a Multi-Factor Authentication. For more information see:
For most resources, if you follow a link from our website or catalogues your login will be picked up automatically or you will be prompted to login straightaway.
If you access resources via another route you will need to look for a login option once you reach the resource you are trying to access. Look for an institutional or shibboleth login option and pick 'University of Reading' from a list of institutions. This will then pick up your login or prompt you to login. For more information about institutional login, please see the link below:
This playlist of two videos shows you how to prepare for and perform a literature search. The first video introduces literature searches and their role. The second video covers using the search operators AND and OR to create a search statement, and explains the role of wildcards and truncation in constructing a comprehensive search. This information is also available in written guides - see the links below.
If you are unable to view these videos on YouTube they are also available on YuJa or Stream (University username and password required):