LibGuides: Physician Associates: Home

Get started by using books

Great for summaries and background information books are a reliable, easy to understand source. Most of the books for Physician Associate studies can be found on the 3rd Floor of the Library.

Find your reading list

Use your module reading list to find books recommended by your lecturer. Find the link on the module site on Blackboard or via the link below.

Blackboard
Reading lists for School of Pharmacy
Includes links to all reading lists for module codes beginning 'PM'. For Physician Associate lists look out for modules including 'MPAS' or starting with 'PMM'.
Making the most of your online reading lists

Find books on a topic using the catalogue

Alternatively search for a specific book or books on topic using the Enterprise catalogue (search box below).

Extend your search using journal articles

For the latest information on specific topics use journal articles.

Finding journal articles

Summon articles you can read straightaway

For quick access to articles available to students at Reading search Summon for your topic using the box below.

Video on how to use Summon

Go one step beyond...

Explore further using these key resources for your subject:

MEDLINE on PubMed This link opens in a new window
References to journal articles in the biomedical sciences. Covers 1950 to the present day. Includes 'In press' articles.
We also have access to PubMed on Web of Science from 1950 to the present day.

It gives references to journal articles in the biomedical sciences including: biotechnology and bioengineering; clinical medicine; drugs and toxicology; forensic medicine; health affairs; non-clinical aspects of health care; psychiatry. Covers 1950 to the present day.

Help and guidance
Help using PubMed
To save searches and set up alerts, you will need to use a third-party sign-in option, such as Facebook or Google. It is not possible to use your University login credentials for this purpose.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Use to search across a number of databases covering a range of subject areas. Provides references to journal articles, books, conference papers, patents, research data and other materials.
Web of Science gives access to a range of databases which can be searched individually or simultaneously:

-BIOSIS Previews - biological sciences
-Current Contents Connect
-Data Citation Index - research data from international repositories
-Derwent Innovations Index - patents in engineering
-FSTA (Food Science and Technology Abstracts)
-Medline - biomedical sciences
-Web of Science Core Collection - made up of the Arts and Humanities, Science, and Social Sciences Citation Indexes, plus a number of other databases

The cross-search also includes open access journals and open archive repositories.

Also available via Web of Science:

-JCR (Journal Citation Reports)

Help and guidance
Web of Science Training Portal
Cochrane Library [full-text] This link opens in a new window
Systematic reviews, protocols and trials on the effects of interventions in health care. Free to UK residents
Includes:

-The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Cochrane Reviews)
-The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
-The Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews (Methodology Reviews)

Help and guidance
You can find training materials and videos by registering with the Cochrane Library Training Hub (requires an e-mail address).

Explore more resources for Physician Associates

Your librarian

Jackie Skinner

Email Me

Contact:

Please contact me if you have a query about literature searching, accessing resources, referencing or using EndNote/Mendeley.

Use the buttons above to email me or make an appointment (in person or online).
Quick query in semester-time? Come along to my weekly drop-in on Tuesdays 13:00-14:00 in Harry Nursten Room 2-64. I am also usually on the Study Advice and Academic Liaison Desk on the Ground Floor of the Library on semester-time Tuesdays 11:00-12:00.

Subjects: Chemistry, Food science, Nutrition, Pharmacology, Pharmacy, Physician Associate, Prescribing

Other useful guides

Physician Associates research skills guide
Resources and help on research skills which will be useful for students doing a research proposal.