Typography and graphic communication: Home

Included are references to monographs, articles and reviews dealing with the history of the printed book, its arts, crafts, techniques and equipment, its economic, social and cultural environment, as well as its production, distribution, preservation and description.

Help and guidance
Search tips

Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) / Repertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA) covers visual arts in all media including:
- traditional fine arts (painting, sculpture, drawing, prints, architecture)
- decorative and applied arts
- material culture
- photography and contemporary new media
- visual arts aspects of performing arts

It includes European art from late Antiquity to the present; American art from the European arrival to the present and Christian and European art in Africa, Asia, and Australia.

Includes:
- Bibliography of the History of Art (1990-2007)
- Repertoire de la litterature de l'art (1975-1989)

It is unclear which publishers are included in Google Scholar, so it shouldn't be used as your only source for a comprehensive literature search. For references to reliable, academic sources search our Summon discovery service or databases covering your subject.

Link to our full-text
You can set your preferences on Google Scholar to show links to full-text articles in all of our e-journals.

1) Click on the three lines on the top left of the home screen.
2) Select 'Settings'.
3) Select 'Library Links' on the left of the screen.
4) In the search box type 'Reading' and select the 'Reading University Library - Full-Text @ Reading' option.
5) Save your settings.

When you do a search, look for a 'Full-Text @ Reading' link to the right of references in your results list. This indicates that we have a subscription which will give you access to the article. Click on this link to access the full-text.

If the 'Full-text @ Reading' link does not appear next to a reference it indicates that it isn't covered by our subscriptions and you probably won't be able to access the article.

If you are off-campus you will need to login to access the articles. You will usually be prompted to login as soon as you click on the link to the article. If this doesn't happen you will need to look for an institutional or Shibboleth login link once you reach the journal's website. For more guidance see Accessing e-journals.

Google Scholar Button
Google have produced a plugin for Chrome, Firefox and Safari which allows you to easily search for and cite articles. Highlight the title of an article in the page you are reading and then click the Scholar button and it will search for the article on Google Scholar in a pop up window. To get a formatted reference for a search result press the quote button next to it and the reference will appear in three different styles.

To make the most of this tool set up the University of Reading as a 'Library Link' using the instructions above.

Full-text archive of more than 2,600 academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Covers from 1880s (or volume 1) up to a 'moving wall' end date, usually of between 2 and 5 years ago. Each journal title has its own 'moving wall' date.

We subscribe to all journal collections, as well as Global Plants and Primary Sources (covering 19th Century British Pamphlets ; Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa; World Heritage Sites: Africa.

Some ebooks are also available - individual titles are listed on Enterprise and a link to freely available JSTOR ebooks is below.

Help and guidance
JSTOR help page for searching

Library Hub Discover lists monographs and journal titles. It also includes conference proceedings, audio-visual, multimedia items and other formats listed on library catalogues.

Help and guidance
Library Hub Discover site support