Skip to main content

EndNote: EndNote online

Information and guidance on using Desktop EndNote and EndNote online to manage bibliographic references.

EndNote online (also known as EndNote basic) is a web-based product which can be used to store references and use them in your work. An enhanced version is available to University members by registering via the Web of Science. Recommended for undergraduates and masters students.

There are three 'versions':

  • EndNote basic - freely available but with basic functionality. Find out more about EndNote basic.
  • EndNote online via the Web of Science - this is an enhanced version of EndNote Basic linked to our subscription to Web of Science. It gives access to styles and import options customised for the University. See instructions below for registering via this route.
  • EndNote online synchronised with Desktop EndNote - this version offers the fullest functionality but has to be linked to a desktop installation of EndNote. See Desktop EndNote Guide 9 for more information.

Registering for an account via Web of Science

To use EndNote online you need to register for an account via Web of Science.

  1. Follow the link below to the Web of Science.
  2. Once connected, click on the 'EndNote' option at the top of the screen.
  3. Click on the ‘Sign up’ link about half way down the page.
  4. Enter your email address (it doesn’t have to be your University one)
  5. Create a password for your account.
  6. Enter your first and last names.
  7. Click ‘Sign up’
  8. You will be sent an email containing an activation link. Click on this link to activate your account.

Once you have created an account you can access it directly by going to my.endnote.com.

Adding references to EndNote online

Direct export is the easiest way to get references from a database into your EndNote online library. 

  • It allows you to save directly from the database into your EndNote library - just choose the EndNote online/web export option when saving your references
  • EndNote online will be automatically opened
  • The references will be added to your library

Only a few databases offer a EndNote online/web export option - currently only Web of Science and EBSCOhost databases (such as Business Source Complete).

See our EndNote online guide for instructions on using direct export.

If a database does not provide a direct export feature it is usually possible to save the reference details in a suitable format that can be imported into EndNote. 

When you are searching your database look for a way of marking relevant items (usually a checkbox). Once you have marked the items look for an 'Export' option. In many cases you can select the 'EndNote' or 'RIS' export option and save the file. 

Once you have a file in the correct format, follow these steps to import it into EndNote Online.

  1. Select the Collect tab and Import References
  2. Browse to find your text file
  3. In the Import option list look for your database name and select the correct host e.g. CAB Abstracts (OvidSP) to import references from our CAB database.
  4. Select the group in your library where the imported references should go.
  5. Click on Import.

Once your references are imported, open a couple to make sure the fields have been filled in correctly.

To find out which import option to use for your database, take a look at the information page for the database on our website, or contact your subject liaison librarian for advice.

If you are using our Summon discovery service, use the 'Summon' import option. This is covered in our introductory guide or watch the video:

On most databases you will see the 'Search for item at Reading' button next to references:

Search for item at Reading button

Clicking on this button searches for the item in our online subscriptions, and will link you directly to the full-text where available. 

In many cases, when opening the full-text, a side-bar appears on the right of the screen with the University logo. Click on this and the click on the 'Export' button (both highlighted in red on the images below). Select the option to 'Export to EndNote Basic' and then 'Export'. This will take the reference details and add them to your EndNote online library.

Sidebar option for exporting to the EndNote Web

Within the 'Collect' option on EndNote online is an 'Online Search' facility. We do not recommend using the EndNote Online Search to find references because:

  • it offers very limited searching functionality making it hard to refine your search;
  • there can be technical difficulties with the z3950 technology it uses.

Searching a database directly and then using Direct export to get the references into your library is the best method, or downloading and importing references if the first option is not available.

However, the Online Search can work well when searching Library catalogues. It is possible to use it to download records from our own catalogue. For best results make sure that your search is specific and well constructed - too general a search might retrieve thousands of useless records and it not easy to refine your search once you have your results.

Our EndNote online guide has a section on using this feature with our Library catalogue.

Loading ...

Adding citations into a Word document using EndNote

Installing the Cite While You Write plugin for Word

To add citations to your Word document you will need to install the EndNote Cite While You Write plug-in, available for both Windows and Macs. This allows you to insert and format citations automatically in Word documents. The plug-in is already installed on IT-managed PCs on campus, but will need to be installed on your own computer.

To do so, login to EndNote online and click the Downloads tab, then select either the Windows or Macintosh downloads from Cite While You Write section. Installation instructions, system requirements and download links are provided on the page displayed.  

Using Cite While You Write

Once the plugin is installed you can search for specific references in your library and insert them into your Word document. The bibliography is automatically created at the end of the document. You can select from a short list of popular referencing styles, some of which have been customised for the University of Reading. This includes the 'Harvard for Reading' style which matches the referencing requirements of many of the science department at the University. It is not possible to edit or create your own styles in EndNote online.

See the step-by-step instructions on using EndNote with Word in our getting started guide:

Creating a stand-alone bibliography

If you are unable to install the Cite While Your Write plugin, or just need a reference list, it is possible to create one from EndNote Online.

  1. Open EndNote online
  2. Click the Format tab, then select Bibliography from the options beneath 
  3. In the first drop-down menu, select the relevant group of references (you may need to create a group in advance)
  4. Using the second menu, select your desired referencing style 
  5. Using the third menu, select a file format for the bibliography 
  6. Click the appropriate button to save, email or preview and print your bibliography.

Using EndNote online videos

This suite of videos starts with registering for an account (although we recommend registering via Web of Science to get enhanced access), and runs through basic and more advanced features.

Help using EndNote online

Our EndNote online guide covers various ways of collecting references and then using it with Word to insert citations in your work and automatically create a bibliography.

We run regular workshops in the Autumn and Spring Terms which cover all aspects of using EndNote Online.

If you are unable to attend a workshop, you can teach yourself using the step-by-step guide, or contact your subject liaison librarian for a 1-1 introduction.

Videos
Website

A group photo of the Academic Liaison Librarians teamYour subject liaison librarian can offer individual help on using EndNote online. 

They can offer a 1-1 tutorial, or advice on specific questions. Contact them to make an appointment. The link below gives a list of liaison librarians for each department.

For any technical problems with installing the Cite While You Write toolbar in Word please contact IT.

Loading ...

EndNote online - FAQs

How long does my EndNote online account last?

Your EndNote online account will become an EndNote basic account 12 months after you leave the University. This means you will not have access to the same range of styles and online search options.

To keep your EndNote online account active whilst you are at the University, you must log into EndNote online from a campus PC or through the Web of Science database every 12 months.

Updated Feb 2018


Can I get a password reminder?

Yes - just follow the link below to the password reminder page.

Updated Feb 2018

Can I transfer references between EndNote online and Desktop Endnote?

Yes - by using the Synchronise option in Desktop EndNote. See Desktop EndNote guide 9 for details.

Updated Feb 2018


Can I add files such as PDFs to my references?

Yes, up to 2GB.

If your EndNote online account is synchronised with Desktop EndNote, then your storage is unlimited.

Updated Feb 2018


Can I share my references with other people?

Yes, you can allow other EndNote online users to view and edit the references saved in your EndNote online Groups. This will not give them access to any attached files.

To share a group: 

  1. Click the Organize tab, then select Manage My Groups from the options beneath. 
  2. In the Share column, tick the box next to the group you wish to share, then click on the Manage Sharing button.
  3. On the next screen, click Start sharing this group. 
  4. Add the email address into the box on the following screen of the person you wish to share this group with (it needs to be the email address they use to access their account). To add more people, press Enter, typing each email address on a new line. 
  5. Once all addresses have been added, choose whether or not references can be only read by those you’ve shared them with, then click Apply.

Your group will appear in the EndNote online accounts of those you’ve shared it with when next they login.

Updated Feb 2018


How do I transfer references from EndNote online to another referencing system?

Follow these steps, although successful transfer is dependent on the actual package you wish to move to.

  1. Open EndNote online.
  2. Click the Format tab and select the Export references link.
  3. In the first drop-down menu, select either All References in My Library or an individual group of references
  4. Using the second menu, select an export style relating to the import options of the package you are transferring to. If unsure, the RIS option is supported by most of the major bibliographic management packages.
  5. Check the help in the package you are transferring to for instructions on importing the references.

Updated March 2018

I've downloaded the Cite While You Write plugin but it isn't appearing in Word

Once Cite While You Write has been downloaded, an EndNote tab should appear next to the View tab on the Word ribbon. If it doesn't appear initially, try running the installer again.

If you're using a Mac, you may find that the EndNote tab doesn't appear. If this happens, check that you are running the latest version of Microsoft Word by opening Word, then going to Help > Check for Updates. Further instructions and help are available from the Microsoft support pages.

Updated June 2018


Updated reference details are not appearing in my Word document

When you insert a reference into a Word document using the Cite While You Write EndNote toolbar its details are stored in a 'travellling library' associated with the Word document. When you update a reference in EndNote online this 'travelling library' is not automatically updated.

To update the reference:

  1. On the EndNote toolbar in Word select Convert Citations and Bibliography > Convert to Unformatted Citations
  2. Now click on Update Citations and Bibliography. EndNote online should then reconnect with Cite While You Write and the citations should be updated.

If you've changed the first author name, year or title of the record within EndNote, Cite While You Write may ask you to specify which reference you're looking for. Just search for the author, year or title to locate the reference and then click Insert. Your document should then be updated accordingly.

Updated June 2018


Can I create a bibliography on its own?

Yes, a standalone bibliography can be easily and quickly created using all or some of the references from your EndNote online account, without needing to insert and format them in a Word document individually. 

  1. Open EndNote online.
  2. Click the Format tab, then select Bibliography.
  3. In the first drop-down menu, select the relevant group of references (you may need to create a group in advance).
  4. Using the second menu, select your desired referencing style. 
  5. Using the third menu, select a file format for the bibliography. 
  6. Click the appropriate button to save, email or preview and print your bibliography.

Updated June 2018


How do I edit the citation to remove the author to leave just the year in brackets?

If you are using a (name, year) style such as Harvard and you want to include the author's name as part of the sentence - for example, 'as Smith (2018) states...' - follow these steps.

  1. Right-click the citation in the text.
  2. Select Edit Citation(s).
  3. Then select Exclude Author to remove it from the corresponding in-text citation. Manually type the author name into your sentence.

Updated June 2018


How do I include page numbers in my citation?
  1. Right-click within the citation in the text.
  2. Select Edit Citation(s) and More...
  3. In the Suffix box enter the page number, including any gaps or punctuation required to appear after the text reference, for example: to cite page 92 in a publication insert [comma] [space] p. [page number] - this will result in (… 2016, p.92). Make sure you follow the format stipulated by the style you are using.

Note: some reference styles in EndNote such as Vancouver may not display page numbers. In this case you will need to convert your document to plain text and add page citations when you are finished (see 'Can I customise the output styles in EndNote online?' below).

Updated August 2018


How do I get a space between my references?

In the EndNote toolbar in Word is a "Bibliography" section. At the bottom right of this section is a small arrow. Click on it and a window will appear.

Click on the Layout tab. Change the Space after to 1.5 lines or double, as you require.

Updated August 2018


Can I customise the output styles in EndNote online/can I make minor adjustments to references?

You cannot directly customise the output styles within EndNote online, unlike in Desktop EndNote. However, you can make any necessary changes to the appearance of references in the actual text of your final Word document by converting your document to plain text. You should only do this once you have the final version of your text ready.

To do this:

  1. Go to the EndNote ribbon and select Convert Citations and Bibliography.
  2. Select Convert to Plain Text. This will create a duplicate file with no links to EndNote online.
  3. Your citations and bibliography will remain in the correct format. You can now make any minor changes to your references to get them exactly how you want.

Updated June 2018


Loading ...

Word plugins - conflict between EndNote and Mendeley

The EndNote and Mendeley plugins in Word don't play nicely together, so you might experience problems if you have both installed. The most common error message seen is 'Cannot edit range' when trying to insert a citation from EndNote into a Word document.

To stop this happening you have to disable the Mendeley plugin by following these steps:

  1. Open the File menu in Word.
  2. Select Options then Add-Ins.
  3. From the Manage list at the foot of the window select Word Add-ins and click Go.
  4. Unselect the Mendeley add-in.

You will need to do this every time you open a document in Word.