LibGuides: Food product development resources guide: Consumer perspective

Key resources for finding literature

ABI/INFORM Collection [full-text] This link opens in a new window
Covers a large number of articles, many in full-text, on consumer education, perception and choice.
ABI/INFORM includes all content found in ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Dateline, and ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry. It also includes ABI/INFORM Archive, which offers a deep backfile of many of the most important business journals of the last century.

Help and guidance
For help within the platform, click on the question mark icon in the bottom right-hand corner.
ABI Inform LibGuide
Business Source Complete [full-text] This link opens in a new window
Includes articles on consumer choice and perception.
Coverage includes: accounting; banking; finance; international business; management; marketing; real estate; regional studies; sales; trade; and technology.

To see a list of the full-text journals select the Title list option from the EBSCOhost home page. Also includes references to articles in many other journals.

Also includes: books/monographs; case studies; conference proceedings; country economic reports; over 5,000 company records; industry reports; market research reports; SWOT analysis; and working papers.

Covers 1886-

Help and guidance
EBSCOhost Advanced Search Help
Viewing results in EBSCOhost
Basic search video tutorial
Advanced search video tutorial
FSTA (Food Science and Technology Abstracts) This link opens in a new window
Key food-related database covering topics related to consumer choice, perception and eduction.
Covers food science, technology and nutrition including:

-food additives
-biotechnology
-food safety
-food science
-functional and novel foods
-nutrition
-packaging

Patent coverage includes European and World (PCT) patents and individual country patents from 17 major countries.

Help and guidance
Web of Science Training Portal
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Psychology database which is useful for examining psychological aspects of food choice.
Gives references to journal articles, books and book chapters.

Search Summon

Search Summon using the box below to find online journal articles, book chapters, standards and other publications covered by the Library's subscriptions. You should be able to access everything you find on Summon.

Consumer market research reports

These sources provide market research reports which can give an insight into consumer attitudes to specific products and innovations.

Mintel Reports [full-text] This link opens in a new window
Provides consumer and market research reports.

When accessing Mintel you may reach a screen that asks for the Client/Campus login. Please select the 'Login here' option next to 'Need federated login?'. You will be directed to the University Single Sign on page, please log in as normal.
Mintel Reports is a database of consumer and market research reports.

It covers UK, European and international consumer markets, focusing on market trends, opportunities, risks, and product and brand innovation.

There are daily news articles on corporate, product and advertising activity keeping on top of current trends in the marketplace.

Help and guidance
Once logged into the site, click on 'Welcome' and 'Help & Training' for comprehensive guidance.

YouGov topic surveys - food
YouGov conduct surveys on various industries and brands. Summaries of results are free to read. You can also sign up for free to YouGov Profiles Lite which gives information of audience profiles and demographics.

Finding statistics

Looking for statistics? Try this resource and the others listed on our Finding statistics guide:

Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides quantitative data and statistics on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources.
Also included are reports, infographics, revenue forecasts on over 400 industries, and a glossary of statistical terms.

Help and guidance
Statista Help & FAQs

Finding statistics

Useful books

Consumer-Driven Innovation in Food and Personal Care Products by Sara R. Jaeger (Editor); Hal MacFie (Editor)
Call Number: 664.00685-CON
ISBN: 9781845695675
Publication Date: 2010
Print and online. Supplements the earlier text (below)
Consumer-Led Food Product Development by Hal MacFie (Editor)
Call Number: 664.00685-CON
ISBN: 9781845690724
Publication Date: 2007
Print and online

Food product development resources guide: Consumer perspective

Key resources for finding literature

Search Summon

Consumer market research reports

Finding statistics

Useful books

Search the Enterprise catalogue for additional books