LibGuides: Food product reformulation resources: Nutrition and technical aspects

Nutrition aspects

Search these databases for literature relating to the nutrition aspects of food reformulation.

MEDLINE on PubMed This link opens in a new window
References to journal articles in the biomedical sciences. Covers 1950 to the present day. Includes 'In press' articles.
We also have access to PubMed on Web of Science from 1950 to the present day.

It gives references to journal articles in the biomedical sciences including: biotechnology and bioengineering; clinical medicine; drugs and toxicology; forensic medicine; health affairs; non-clinical aspects of health care; psychiatry. Covers 1950 to the present day.

Help and guidance
Help using PubMed
To save searches and set up alerts, you will need to use a third-party sign-in option, such as Facebook or Google. It is not possible to use your University login credentials for this purpose.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science (All Databases) includes the MEDLINE database, the main food science database (FSTA), and the Web of Science Core Collection. All of these will include nutrition-related references.
Web of Science gives access to a range of databases which can be searched individually or simultaneously:

-BIOSIS Previews - biological sciences
-Current Contents Connect
-Data Citation Index - research data from international repositories
-Derwent Innovations Index - patents in engineering
-FSTA (Food Science and Technology Abstracts)
-Medline - biomedical sciences
-Web of Science Core Collection - made up of the Arts and Humanities, Science, and Social Sciences Citation Indexes, plus a number of other databases

The cross-search also includes open access journals and open archive repositories.

Also available via Web of Science:

-JCR (Journal Citation Reports)

Help and guidance
Web of Science Training Portal

Search Summon

Search Summon using the box below to find online journal articles, book chapters, standards and other publications covered by the Library's subscriptions. You should be able to access everything you find on Summon.

Technical aspects

FSTA (Food Science and Technology Abstracts) This link opens in a new window
This is THE specialist food science and processing database. It gives references to journal articles, books, patents and legislation. It is part of the Web of Science.
Covers food science, technology and nutrition including:

-food additives
-biotechnology
-food safety
-food science
-functional and novel foods
-nutrition
-packaging

Patent coverage includes European and World (PCT) patents and individual country patents from 17 major countries.

Help and guidance
Web of Science Training Portal
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Gives references to journal articles, books, conference proceedings and patents in all subjects. Also offers extensive tools to analyse results, and measure impact for articles, journals and authors.
Scopus gives references to peer-reviewed literature in all subject areas. It includes journal articles (including 'in press' items), books, conference proceedings and patents.

It is possible to search for topics, authors (including by ORCID ID), author affiliation and funders.

Extensive analytical tools also allow you to:

-analyse your search results by year, source, author, affiliation, country or territory, document type and subject area
-compare journal impact to help you decide where to publish
-see the citation impact and scholarly community engagement for an article
-analyse the citation trend for any given article, set of results or for a list of author documents
-view an author profile to analyse and track an individual's citation history

Help and guidance
Scopus Quick Reference Guide (PDF)
Tutorial of creating alerts
Scopus learn & support site

Nutritics
A tool for dietary analysis, meal planning and recipe and menu management. You will need to register for an account by following the instructions posted on Blackboard. Do not register for the 7-day free trial.

Patents

Patents can be a useful source of technical information and processing methods. FSTA (above) includes references to Patents in this area. See also our guide to finding patents:

Finding patents

Campden BRI Nutrition Guidelines Database

Recently launched, this database allows you to find information relating to different health influencers (e.g. sugar, salt) and associated guidance and regulatory requirements. For example, if a company wants to develop a reduced calorie cheesecake, they would use the tool to find:

Which regulations they need to be aware of
Which ingredients they could use
Any guidance documents or resources available (to provide a starting point for development)

Campden BRI Nutrition Guidelines Database
You will need to register using your University email address to access this resource.

Reading list

A few suggested books have been included in this guide, but for a more comprehensive list of books, articles and other documents take a look at the reading list for this module:

Reading list for FBMPRE

Useful books

Advances in Food Rheology and Its Applications by Jasim Ahmed (Editor); Santanu Basu (Editor)
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9780128239841
Publication Date: 2022
Formulation engineering of foods by Ian T. Norton (Editor); Peter Fryer (Editor); Jennifer E. Norton (Editor)
ISBN: 9780470672907
Publication Date: 2013
Print and online
Functional dietary lipids: food formulation, consumer issues and innovation for health by Thomas Sanders (Editor)
Call Number: 612.397-FUN
ISBN: 9781782422471
Publication Date: 2015
Print and online
Reformulation as a strategy for developing healthier food products by Vassilios Raikos (Editor); Viren Ranawana (Editor)
ISBN: 9783030236205
Publication Date: 2019
Print and online

Food product reformulation resources: Nutrition and technical aspects

Nutrition aspects

Search Summon

Technical aspects

Reading list

Useful books

Search the Enterprise catalogue for additional books