LibGuides: MA Creative Enterprise: Home

Get started by using books

Great for summaries and background information books are a reliable, easy to understand source. Most of the books for Creative Enterprise can be found on the 3rd and 4th floors of the Library.

Find your reading list

Use your module reading list to find books recommended by your lecturer. Find the link on the module site on Blackboard or via the link below.

Find books on a topic using the catalogue

Alternatively search for a specific book or books on a topic using the Enterprise catalogue (search box below).

Extend your search using journal articles

For the latest information on specific topics use journal articles.

Finding journal articles

Summon articles you can read straightaway

For quick access to articles available to students at Reading search Summon for your topic using the box below.

Video on how to use Summon

Go one step beyond...

Explore further using these key resources for your subject:

Screen Studies Collection [partial full-text] This link opens in a new window
Gives references, and some full-text access, to sources relating to film and television.
Search simultaneously across the following databases:

-FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database - Gives references to journal articles and access to the full-text of several journals. Also includes information about holdings of silent films in international film archives, and a directory of film and tv collections held by institutions worldwide.

-Film Index International (FII) – International index of films from the first silent movies to the latest blockbusters. Gives biographical information for almost 57,000 personalities. Also includes coverage of international film awards and prizes as well as searchable plot summaries and full cast and crew lists. References to published reviews and articles about individual films are also included within the records.

-AFI Catalog - The American Film Institute's catalogue is a comprehensive filmography of American films from 1893 to 1974, with records for selected major films from 1975-2008. New records are added each year by the AFI’s editorial team. Useful for identifying sources and reviews.

Help and guidance
For help within the platform, click on the question mark icon in the bottom right-hand corner.
Guide to using FIAF
Guide to using Film Index International
Guide to using the American Film Institute Catalogue
Business Source Complete [full-text] This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles in business magazines, scholarly journals and trade publications.
Coverage includes: accounting; banking; finance; international business; management; marketing; real estate; regional studies; sales; trade; and technology.

To see a list of the full-text journals select the Title list option from the EBSCOhost home page. Also includes references to articles in many other journals.

Also includes: books/monographs; case studies; conference proceedings; country economic reports; over 5,000 company records; industry reports; market research reports; SWOT analysis; and working papers.

Covers 1886-

Help and guidance
EBSCOhost Advanced Search Help
Viewing results in EBSCOhost
Basic search video tutorial
Advanced search video tutorial
Westlaw UK [full-text] This link opens in a new window
Full-text of UK, US EU and Commonwealth legal sources.
Contents include:

- UK cases, including The Law Reports, Weekly Law Reports and English Reports
- Fully consolidated laws in force, including Acts from 1267 and Statutory Instruments from 1948.
- European Union cases from 1954
- European Union legislation
- Index to British legal journals from 1986 (with links to full-text where hosted on Westlaw UK)
- Full-text British and American legal journals (varying date coverage)
- Comprehensive collection of US law reviews from the 1980s and selected journals from common law jurisdictions, including Canada, Australia and New Zealand.
- US Federal and State case law
- US Federal legislation

Help and guidance
For basic, introductory guidance see the Westlaw getting started guide (PDF).
For more advanced guidance see the further resources on the Westlaw customer support site.
Complete the Westlaw UK certification training, an interactive walk-through of Westlaw UK, to demonstrate your skills by becoming a Certified user.

Explore more resources for Creative Enterprise ...

Your librarian

Natalie Guest

She / Her

Email Me

Contact:

Get my help with finding relevant books and articles for your research, help with accessing library materials and collections, referencing and reference management software.

Email me with your question or book an appointment

0118 3783415

Subjects: Art, Cultures, English language and applied linguistics, English literature, Film, theatre and television, Fine art, French studies, German studies, Italian studies, Language, Linguistics, Literature, Spanish and Latin American studies, Television, Theatre, Typography and graphic communication

Additional guides for MA Creative Enterprise

Arts and health
This guide draws together materials for doing research in the interdisciplinary area of arts and health.
Video, image and sound resources
We have access to various databases and websites that provide images, videos and sound resources.
Film, theatre and television subject guide
A guide for finding resources on Film, Theatre & Television and the contact details of the Academic Liaison Librarian.
Law guide
Business, informatics, management and accounting subject guide
This guide includes information on the location of relevant materials in the University Library, lists of reference materials and Internet resources, and other guidance on finding information related to management.