Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Gazetteers are indexes to places. There are two types of gazetteer - those which simply give coordinates and/or codified information, and those which give a verbal description of a place. The latter will usually also give coordinates. Both types are listed here.
Collections of links
Geographical names on the Internet
Links to various country gazetteers. Maintained by the Permanent Commitee for Geographical Names (PCGN) for British official use.
Place names (ASU)
Collection of links to web based gazetteers maintained by Arizona State University Libraries. Includes world and country gazetteers.
NGA GeoNet Names Server
Provides access to the United States National Imagery and Mapping Agency's (NIMA) database of foreign (i.e. non-USA) geographic feature names. Includes approximately 5 million features and 7 million feature names. Use the Text based search page for easiest access.
Getty thesaurus of geographic names
Gazetteer of places with an emphasis on places important for art and architecture. Produced by the Getty Research Institute.
Descriptive gazetteers of Great Britain
Search across three historic gazetteers of GB: John Marius Wilson's Imperial Gazetteer of England & Wales (1872); Frances Groome's The Ordnance Gazetteer of Scotland (1885); John Bartholomew's Gazetteer of the British Isles (1887).
Gazetteer for Scotland
Maintained by the Robertson Trust. "The first comprehensive gazetteer of Scotland since 1885."
Geographic Names Information Server (United States)
GNIS has information about almost 2 million physical and cultural geographic features in the United States. Also covers Antarctica. Developed by the United States Geological Survey and the U.S. Board on Geographic Names.
Imperial gazetteer of India
Full text - can be browsed or searched. Part of a much larger historical resource on South Asia - the Digital South Asia Library.
Gazetteer of Australia
The gazetteer provides information on the location and spelling of more than 370,000 geographical names across Australia and its external Territories.