LibGuides: The Learning Hub: Further sources

Collections, Libraries & Museums

Teaching Practice Collection
The Teaching Practice Collection (TPC) at the University Library contains recent children’s fiction and non-fiction, a range of textbooks to GCSE level, music scores and multimedia items including kits, scientific models, and picture sets.
Education guide
A guide to finding information in education. Includes links to key resources and sources of help.
Special Collections - Children's Collection
The Children’s Collection at the University's Special Collections Service holds books and journals for children published largely in the 19th and early 20th century. This is a non-loan collection, but is useful in the study of children’s literature.
Guide to free research resources
A guide to free and Open Access resources available to students, alumni and the public.

Reading Public Library
Reading's Central Library has a wealth of useful resources, including children's fiction and non-fiction, foreign language books, DVDs, music scores, and a toy collection (available for a small fee).
UCL Institute of Education Library - Curriculum Resource Collection
UCL's Institute of Education Library has a Curriculum Resource collection that offers examples of schoolbooks and teaching materials for all levels and all school subjects. Students are able to access this collection using SCONUL access.
more...less...
For more information on SCONUL access: http://www.reading.ac.uk/library/beyond-uor/other-libraries/lib-sconul-access.aspx

Ashmolean Museum
This Museum of Art and Archaeology's collections are extraordinarily diverse, representing most of the world’s great civilisations. Highlights include, Egyptian sculpture, Minoan artefacts, Anglo-Saxon treasures and modern Chinese painting.
Cole Museum of Zoology
The Cole Museum of Zoology contains some 3500 specimens of the Animal Kingdom with highlights including, complete skeletons of a male Indian Elephant, a False Killer Whale, a five metre Reticulated Python, and a pair of Giant Spider Crabs.
The Look Out Discovery Centre
Offering a hands-on experience, the Look Out Discovery Centre encourages children to explore, investigate and have fun with science, technology, engineering, art and maths.
Museum of Berkshire Aviation
Aircraft built at Woodley are re-constructed and exhibited along with fascinating pictorial records and archives. Educational programmes for schools, linked to National Curriculum requirements, demonstrate the development of aviation techniques.
Museum of English Rural Life (MERL)
The MERL's interactive, immersive galleries explore questions of identity, environment, technology, culture and health in Rural England.
Pitt Rivers Museum
The Pitt Rivers Museum displays archaeological and ethnographic objects from all parts of the world and all time periods.
Reading International Solidarity Centre
Resources for teaching Global Citizenship. RISC also offer workshops and training. They are based on London Street, Reading.
Reading Museum
Reading Museum's collections tell the story of Reading and its place in the world. They have almost 500,000 accessioned objects of archaeology, art, natural history, social history and world cultures. They also offer a School Loan Box service on an annual or ad hoc basis.
Roald Dahl Museum
One of the most complete literary archives of favourite children's author, Roald Dahl. A visit to the museum includes time exploring galleries with 40 interactive installations and small group activities working with materials from the Roald Dahl archive.
The Story Museum
The Story Museum offers a range of spaces and activities to explore with a changing programme of exhibitions and immersive installations.
Ure Museum of Greek Archaeology
The Ure Museum houses one of the largest collections of Greek ceramics in Britain.